Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Mark Watson 118 posts 384 karma points
    Jun 05, 2018 @ 01:30
    Mark Watson

Member edit own details on secure page

I am new to Umbraco and can someone give me a guide to the approach I need to use to achieve the following.

I have a page on the web site which lists the contact details of members.

I have created an Member Type "Active Members" with additional text boxes, Address, Phone etc.

I wish to display the Active members details on a secure page which they need to sign in to and change their password, password question and details that are published.

Is this the right approach?

• Andy Felton 185 posts 484 karma points c-trib
    Jun 05, 2018 @ 07:21
    Andy Felton

Hi Mark,

Your approach looks correct. to load and save you member data I'd suggest using the MemberService https://our.umbraco.org/documentation/reference/management/services/memberservice.

Thanks Andy

Jun 15, 2018 @ 06:12
    Mark Watson

Thanks Andy

I am new to Umbraco so I do not understand what to do with this information. I have added a tab to my active members typeenter image description here

I wish to achieve 2 things:

1. Publish the infomation on this tab on the web site. This will list the Drs practice details Name, Address and phone etc.

2. Give access to the Drs to a secure page where they can edit their details.

How do i achieve these 2 things?

Jun 15, 2018 @ 09:12
    Andy Felton

Hi Mark,

To edit details on a member then this blog may be helpful has it provided details of how to use the MemberServer -https://24days.in/umbraco-cms/2014/dealing-with-members/.

Documentation for the membership service can be found here https://our.umbraco.org/documentation/reference/management/services/memberservice.