Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • MB 113 posts 422 karma points
    Aug 07, 2018 @ 02:02
    MB
    0

    Baseline and Self-Hosting

    Perhaps a dumb question.

    Baseline-Child deployment & updating looks like a pretty cool feature of Umbraco Cloud, that could make my life a lot easier.

    However, can this also be configured on a self-hosted environment?

  • Kristian Larsen 2 posts 20 karma points
    Aug 07, 2018 @ 08:08
    Kristian Larsen
    0

    Not a dumb question at all - I have the exact same question.

    Hope to hear from some of the experts, so we can get going! :-D

    Best regards, Kristian

  • Søren Kottal 702 posts 4497 karma points MVP 5x c-trib
    Aug 07, 2018 @ 08:50
    Søren Kottal
    0

    Hi both :)

    For this to work you need an on-premise version of Deploy, which is not publicly available yet. See this blog post https://umbraco.com/blog/umbraco-on-premise-deployment/

    When it becomes available, the baseline functionality should be doable using git subtrees. See a tutorial here: https://medium.com/@v/git-subtrees-a-tutorial-6ff568381844

    Your baseline project is the subtree, from which you pull/merge changes into your child/main project.

    At ecreo we use subtrees to handle a baseline for our frontend asset setup containing stylesheets, javascripts, gulp, webpack etc.

  • Søren Kottal 702 posts 4497 karma points MVP 5x c-trib
    Aug 07, 2018 @ 08:56
    Søren Kottal
    101

    To elaborate, you have a git repository containing your baseline (from the root, don't have it in a folder like MyBaseline.Web).

    You then create your child/main project in it's own repository, and do the following git commands:

    git remote add baseline {url for baseline repo here}
    git subtree add --prefix=MyNewProject.Web baseline master
    

    You now get a copy of your baseline in the folder MyNewProject.Web, and can start working there.

    When you need to update the baseline in your project, you can fetch from the baseline remote, and merge it into your desired branch (eg. master)

  • MB 113 posts 422 karma points
    Aug 08, 2018 @ 03:28
    MB
    0

    Excellent news - I look forward to that and will be keen to play with it once available.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft