Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Trevor Morgan 13 posts 64 karma points
    Aug 08, 2018 @ 09:05
    Trevor Morgan
    0

    Button text missing from back end

    HI All,

    Umbraco version 7.11.1

    after deploying and going live yesterday some of the buttons from the back end are not displaying any text.

    No text on button

    on further investigation it appears that the angular switch is broken

    the span under save and publish is as follows

    <span class="umb-button__content" ng-class="{'-hidden': state !== 'init'}">
         <!-- ngIf: icon -->
         <!-- ngIf: labelKey --><localize ng-if="labelKey" key="buttons_saveAndPublish" class="ng-isolate-scope ng-scope ng-binding">Save and publish</localize>
         <!-- ngIf: !labelKey -->
      </span>
    

    and the preview button is as follows

    <span class="umb-button__content -hidden" ng-class="{'-hidden': state !== 'init'}">
         <!-- ngIf: icon -->
         <!-- ngIf: labelKey --><localize ng-if="labelKey" key="buttons_showPage" class="ng-isolate-scope ng-scope ng-binding">Preview</localize>
         <!-- ngIf: !labelKey -->
      </span>
    

    im struggling to find what that "state" is and why its only effecting some buttons (Preview, add link, a few others).

    Any help appreciated

  • Nathan Cozens 1 post 71 karma points
    Aug 08, 2018 @ 09:53
    Nathan Cozens
    0

    Some more information...

    The 'Your profile' controls also do not work.

    Also note the 'Save and publish' button continues to work.

    enter image description here

  • Louis Ferreira 53 posts 248 karma points
    Aug 08, 2018 @ 10:01
    Louis Ferreira
    0

    Hi Guys,

    Can you see any javascript errors if you open the browser developer tools (F12)? This will give any indication about angular / javascript issues to help diagnose the problem

    Louis

  • Trevor Morgan 13 posts 64 karma points
    Aug 08, 2018 @ 10:05
    Trevor Morgan
    0

    No errors in the console unfortunately, I have also been through both Umbraco and server logs and see nothing much apart from

    2018-08-08 00:04:14,202 [P512/D5/T42] ERROR Umbraco.Web.Scheduling.KeepAlive - Failed

    which happened this morning

    thanks for the reply!

  • Louis Ferreira 53 posts 248 karma points
    Aug 08, 2018 @ 10:23
    Louis Ferreira
    0

    Ok, let's rule out network related issues. Do you see the same things when you log on locally on the server hosting the site?

    Is this a multi-lingual site? Or are the buttons usually displaying text in english?

  • Trevor Morgan 13 posts 64 karma points
    Aug 08, 2018 @ 10:26
    Trevor Morgan
    0

    Its working on Azure so no possibility of getting to the instance locally, the same code base is not behaving this way on another instance but the other instance has a different DB.

    Im about to clone the instance to see if i can replicate elsewhere. Not multilingual and the buttons are usually in English

  • Simon steed 352 posts 639 karma points
    Aug 08, 2018 @ 10:32
    Simon steed
    102

    Try clearing out your client dependency cache, increment the clientdependency.config version number then do a hard cache clear in your browser.

    Had this before and that is what I needed to do to resolve

    Good luck

    Si

  • Louis Ferreira 53 posts 248 karma points
    Aug 08, 2018 @ 10:32
    Louis Ferreira
    0

    Ok, check to see if the language file en-US.xml is not currupted somehow... these files contain all the localisation text for controls used in the backoffice.

  • Trevor Morgan 13 posts 64 karma points
    Aug 08, 2018 @ 10:41
    Trevor Morgan
    0

    Thanks very much chaps, really appreciate the support. It was the client dependency number, although we aren't using it, the back office must have just got its JS in a knot.

  • Simon steed 352 posts 639 karma points
    Aug 08, 2018 @ 10:48
    Simon steed
    0

    Aye it's a common problem - always clear out that cache and increment when moving to a new server. I do it even for upgrades and minor changes (especially plugins) to be sure.

    Glad it worked!

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft