Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Nic Cordingley 9 posts 80 karma points
    Aug 09, 2018 @ 08:44
    Nic Cordingley

Error -editing partial macro in the umbraco starters guide

Hi,

I was editing the 'partial macros' as part of the Umbraco guide and got the following error. As a newbie I have no idea where i went wrong as the replacement code looks fine. Any suggestions?

Unhandled controller exception occurred System.Web.HttpCompileException (0x80004005): c:\inetpub\temp\DWASFiles\sites\efa10cb2-f07a-44ab-9381-2b62b8591ce0\VirtualDirectory0\site\wwwroot\Views\MacroPartials\LatestBlogposts.cshtml(20): error CS0428: Cannot convert method group 'Count' to non-delegate type 'double'. Did you intend to invoke the method?

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Aug 09, 2018 @ 08:56
    Jan Skovgaard

Hello Nic and welcome to our :)

Can you show the link to the guide you have been following? And can you also please share the code that is causing the issue? That way it will be easier to help you out :)

Cheers, Jan

Aug 09, 2018 @ 09:13
    Nic Cordingley

Hi Jan,

It was part of the new starter tutorials. I was following the instructions to 'Add a Blog Post Publication Date'. I changed the items of code as per the instructions below:

1. Find the element with the class blogpost-date and change it to use a nicely formatted Publication Date, i.e.: @Model.Content.PublicationDate.ToLongDateString()

2. Scroll down to find the blogpost-date element and change it to use a nicely formatted Publication Date, i.e.: @post.PublicationDate.ToLongDateString() Scroll further back up the page to where we get the blog posts (as the Children of this page). Change this to: var blogposts = startNode.Children.OrderByDescending(x => x.GetPropertyValue

I then got the error alert and the page looks like this: enter image description here

Aug 09, 2018 @ 09:18