Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Stephen 22 posts 144 karma points
    Nov 08, 2018 @ 22:01
    Stephen

Property naming conventions

I'm fairly new to Umbraco, but after building and maintaining several websites on the platform I'm still struggling to figure out a best practice naming convention for properties and property aliases. I'm not sure if I'm being overly picky or if I'm architecting my document types poorly. The documentation and examples I've been able to find don't shed much light on the issue, as they typically involve only a small number of properties.

Consider the attached wireframe of a fairly typical page design:

enter image description here

To realise this in Umbraco I might block out a "Home" document type as follows:

• Banner: Heading, Summary, Link, Call to action, Image
    • Products: Heading, Summary, Image, Link, Call to action
    • About: Heading, Summary, Link, Call to action
    • News: Heading, Summary, Featured articles, Link, Call to action

This wouldn't work as the resulting property aliases would conflict with one another. To work around this, I might prefix each property name with the name of its tab, as follows:

• Banner: Banner heading, Banner summary, Banner link, Banner call to action, Banner image
    • Products: Products heading, Products summary, Products image, Products link, Products call to action
    • About: About heading, About summary, About link, About call to action
    • News: News heading, News summary, News featured articles, News link, News call to action

I might even go a step further and split the property name from its alias, so that content editors have a smaller field label to contend with, for example "Call to action" instead of "Products call to action", and rely on the tab itself to provide context.

• Is this a sensible way of doing things?