Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Emil Lindgren 28 posts 190 karma points
    Dec 05, 2018 @ 13:33
    Emil Lindgren

Hello, so i have a problem i need to understand better.

I need to cache my side navigation. I have it in a partial view, so i thought i could use the @html.CachePartial(), but im new to all this caching, so i dont know really how to cache it, i might be able to make my own cache method but still, might not be the best/simplest. This is my cache code, @Html.CachedPartial("~/Views/Partials/Navigation/SideNavigation.cshtml", Model, 3600, true)

but could someone explain where or how to use it? I've read this article

https://our.umbraco.com/documentation/Reference/Templating/Mvc/partial-views

• louisjrdev 107 posts 344 karma points c-trib
    Dec 05, 2018 @ 14:28
    louisjrdev

Hi Emil,

So they way you are using it there is slightly incorrect for the particular use case of a navigation,

@Html.CachedPartial("~/Views/Partials/Navigation/SideNavigation.cshtml", Model, 3600, true)

the last parameter here is saying to cache by page, meaning that instead of caching the content of the partial for the entire site, it is caching it for only that page (this is great for pages where you want to cache content managed content that is different between pages).

So this code should work for your navigation:

@Html.CachedPartial("~/Views/Partials/Navigation/SideNavigation.cshtml", Model, 3600)

So this will cache the content of your nav partial and then any page that is loaded within 1hour (3600 seconds / 60), will get served the nav partial with the data from the cache, after that the cache will be renewed and then that content will get served for another 60mins, so on and so on,