Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Martin Griffiths 826 posts 1269 karma points c-trib
    Jan 08, 2019 @ 13:44
    Martin Griffiths
    1

    I've encountered the following issues with an upgraded project. Can anyone confirm these?

    I've raised tickets for these.

    The project was previously v7.12.4.

    1. Editing an existing color picker property inside a nested content item stops working with JS errors. Creating a new nested content item containing the same color picker works as expected.
    2. Clicking through the content tree prompts for unsaved changes every time.
  • Matthew Wise 271 posts 1373 karma points MVP 4x c-trib
    Jan 08, 2019 @ 14:15
    Matthew Wise
    0

    Hi Martin,

    Have you tried changing the version number in the Config/ClientDependency.config?

    There maybe JS changes that are been pulled through due the cache ClientDependency creates.

    Matt

  • Martin Griffiths 826 posts 1269 karma points c-trib
    Jan 08, 2019 @ 14:18
    Martin Griffiths
    0

    Yea client dependency version increased, caches cleared, webserver reset.

    The issues occur on my dev build and my QA build. Uggh.

  • Owain Williams 479 posts 1410 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    Jan 08, 2019 @ 14:51
    Owain Williams
    1

    Hi, Sorry, I deleted my last post because I thought I had a false positive but I also have the issue 2 on my site which is running 7.13.

    I can't replicate issue 1 as I don't have nested content setup on this site though.

    O.

  • Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15476 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jan 08, 2019 @ 15:04
    Sebastiaan Janssen
    0

    When you see #2, can you please try to figure out which datatypes are on the document type of the content item you're moving away from?

    As for #1, I'll try to replicate now.

  • Martin Griffiths 826 posts 1269 karma points c-trib
    Jan 08, 2019 @ 15:27
    Martin Griffiths
    0

    Hi Sebastian

    I've locked #2 down to any page/doctype with a MNTP property on it that isn't empty. As soon as the MNTP has items it starts happening.

    I have one project with a mixture of the legacy and MNTP2 and the other project has just the MNTP2 datatype in use. It appears to be happening for both,

  • Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15476 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jan 08, 2019 @ 15:19
    Sebastiaan Janssen
    0

    I tried with a color picker that I've set up in 7.12.4 and then upgraded the site to 7.13.0, it's in a nested content property.

    Maybe I've done something different but this is what it looks like to me, no JS errors:

    enter image description here

    And the configuration is like this:

    enter image description here

  • Martin Griffiths 826 posts 1269 karma points c-trib
    Jan 08, 2019 @ 15:40
    Martin Griffiths
    0

    Hi Sebastiaan

    This is the error I get if its any help?

    TypeError: Cannot create property 'value' on string 'e93f6f'

  • Martin Griffiths 826 posts 1269 karma points c-trib
    Jan 08, 2019 @ 15:41
    Martin Griffiths
    0

    In the 7.12.4 project were there already entries? Or did you create them new after upgrading?

    If I create new items in the nested content it works fine.

    If I try and edit an existing item that was there in 7.12.4 it fails.

  • Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15476 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jan 08, 2019 @ 15:56
    Sebastiaan Janssen
    0

    Managed to repro now, it's when I have existing entries yep. But I had enabled the labels and when I didn't enable the labels before it starts failing.

    Will work on a fix, it's because the values are stored a little different when there are / are not labels. Should be a pretty easy fix.

  • Martin Griffiths 826 posts 1269 karma points c-trib
    Jan 08, 2019 @ 15:59
    Martin Griffiths
    0

    Awesome Sebastiaan, thanks

    Did you see my reply regarding the unsaved changes? I managed to lock it down to any page with an MNTP or MNTP2 on it that has entries. If the picker is empty the unsaved message isnt triggered.

  • Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15476 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jan 08, 2019 @ 16:01
    Sebastiaan Janssen
    0

    Check. I'll have a look at MNTP too!

  • Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15476 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jan 08, 2019 @ 19:35
    Sebastiaan Janssen
    100

    Alright, color picker first, go into your ~/Umbraco/Js/umbraco.controller.js and find line 11654: // Complex color (value and label)?

    Above that you can add:

    // Backwards compatibility, the color used to be stored as a hex value only
    if($scope.model.value.length === 6) {
        $scope.model.value = { value: $scope.model.value, label: $scope.model.value };
    } 
    

    This will read the previous non-complex value and modifies it to be the "complex" value we now expect.

  • Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15476 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jan 08, 2019 @ 19:39
    Sebastiaan Janssen
    0

    As for MNTP, it looks like it might be a little too sensitive to setting it dirty maybe.. when it loads completely it doesn't trigger the notification, when it doesn't (if you click through the nodes fast enough) you will trigger the notification. I am not sure if this is changed behavior, still investigating.

  • Martin Griffiths 826 posts 1269 karma points c-trib
    Jan 09, 2019 @ 09:47
    Martin Griffiths
    0

    Hi Sebastiaan

    That's the opposite of what i'm seeing, if I click through the tree frantically (ie dont let everything load) its fine. If I wait for everything to load and then click on another tree item, i get the unsaved changes prompt.

    Backpeddling the changes to the MNTP seems to have worked though. :-)

  • Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15476 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jan 08, 2019 @ 19:47
    Sebastiaan Janssen
    1

    Aha that would be this change in MNTP: https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco-CMS/pull/2899

    You could remove those lines (~/Umbraco/Js/umbraco.controller.js ln. 11883 & 12009) for now.

  • Martin Griffiths 826 posts 1269 karma points c-trib
    Jan 09, 2019 @ 09:49
    Martin Griffiths
    0

    will this issue will be re-opened?

  • Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15476 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jan 09, 2019 @ 09:53
    Sebastiaan Janssen
    0

    Not sure what you mean? We need to fix some unintended behavior, this issue is open (I assume that this is your GitHub user: https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco-CMS/issues/3997 ) and there's a PR for it that I'm looking at now.

  • Martin Griffiths 826 posts 1269 karma points c-trib
    Jan 09, 2019 @ 10:11
    Martin Griffiths
    0

    Apologies, my misunderstanding most likely.

    I seemed to recall in the task list for in-progress umbraco versions, items "re-opened" when stuff is done and is found to still have issues, or breaks something else.

    If its all to be handled inside this item, np. :-)

  • Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15476 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jan 09, 2019 @ 10:14
    Sebastiaan Janssen
    1

    Right-o! Can only re-open items if they've not been released yet. Once they're in a release they'll be listed for that specific versions and we make updates to fix any resulting issues! 👍

  • Blake Watt (Clerke) 106 posts 351 karma points MVP
    Jan 21, 2019 @ 21:26
    Blake Watt (Clerke)
    0

    I could be doing something wrong, but I upgraded from 7.12.4 to 7.13.1 and had an existing color picker with label from 7.12 that seems to no longer be updating the label value. When I print the color picker value to test I see the hex value changing but not the label. Did anyone else notice this in 7.13.1? This is my data type configuration. enter image description here

  • Blake Watt (Clerke) 106 posts 351 karma points MVP
    Jan 22, 2019 @ 20:07
    Blake Watt (Clerke)
    0

    So it appears that in 7.13.1 with the new color picker, the value is always updated on save and publish but the label is not updating. I have the values in the picture above and when I pick a different color and save and publish I can see the new value, but the label does not change (unless you save and publish twice while selecting the same color).

    I uploaded a screencast here: https://screencast-o-matic.com/watch/cqV3Y13ZYH

  • Martin Griffiths 826 posts 1269 karma points c-trib
    Jan 23, 2019 @ 10:12
    Martin Griffiths
    0

    Also there's no dirty check on changes

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft