Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • krzakivan 27 posts 93 karma points
    Feb 10, 2019 @ 14:09
    krzakivan
    0

    CS0029: Cannot implicitly convert type 'int' to 'System.Web.IHtmlString'

    Hello guys ,

    I do get error message when I try to do If equal then ..
    CS0029: Cannot implicitly convert type 'int' to 'System.Web.IHtmlString'

    Code:

    var test = @Umbraco.Field("test");
                @if (test = 1 ){
                .....
                } else { .... } 
    

    In backoffice is used Umbraco.Decimal editor for that test property.

    Could someone help to make it work ?

    Thank you

  • Matthew Wise 271 posts 1373 karma points MVP 5x c-trib
    Feb 10, 2019 @ 16:18
    Matthew Wise
    0

    Hi,

    Umbraco.Field always returns IHtmlString.

    If you want a typed version you will want either Model.Content.GetPropertyValue

    Or

    Model.GetPropertyValue

    You will want the first one if you view inherits UmbracoTemplatePage and the Second is for UmbracoViewPage

    Matt

  • krzakivan 27 posts 93 karma points
    Feb 10, 2019 @ 16:48
    krzakivan
    0

    Used first option,

    now Im getting Cannot implicitly convert type 'object' to 'bool'. An explicit conversion exists (are you missing a cast?)

  • Matthew Wise 271 posts 1373 karma points MVP 5x c-trib
    Feb 10, 2019 @ 16:49
    Matthew Wise
    0

    To do a compare in not an assignment you need to use == in the if

  • krzakivan 27 posts 93 karma points
    Feb 10, 2019 @ 16:53
    krzakivan
    0

    Hi again,

    Tried , but then im left with CS0019: Operator '==' cannot be applied to operands of type 'object' and 'int'

  • Matthew Wise 271 posts 1373 karma points MVP 5x c-trib
    Feb 10, 2019 @ 16:55
    Matthew Wise
    0

    Could you show me the code as it is now :)

  • Matthew Wise 271 posts 1373 karma points MVP 5x c-trib
    Feb 10, 2019 @ 16:58
    Matthew Wise
    0

    @{ var test = Model.Content.GetPropertyValue

    Am on my phone so can't indent but that should work

  • krzakivan 27 posts 93 karma points
    Feb 10, 2019 @ 17:06
    krzakivan
    0
    var test = Model.Content.GetPropertyValue("test");
    
     @if (test == 1 ){
    
  • Matthew Wise 271 posts 1373 karma points MVP 5x c-trib
    Feb 10, 2019 @ 17:08
    Matthew Wise
    0

    GetPropertyValue("test"); Should be

    GetPropertyValue<int>("test");
    
  • krzakivan 27 posts 93 karma points
    Feb 10, 2019 @ 17:23
    krzakivan
    0

    Thank you , It is working now , I just did not know how to specify it as a INT Have a great day Thanks

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies