Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Mark Watson 118 posts 384 karma points
    Mar 27, 2019 @ 06:35
    Mark Watson
    0

    Using random items in a slider

    Does anyone know a better way to do the following?

    I am trying to use 3 different random testimonials in a slider but not sure how to get three different random items and render them in the right

    .

    @{ var FirstTestimonial = Model.Content.Site().FirstChild("Testimonial").Children().RandomOrder().FirstOrDefault(); var SecondTestimonial = Model.Content.Site().FirstChild("Testimonial").Children().RandomOrder().FirstOrDefault(); var ThirdTestimonial = Model.Content.Site().FirstChild("Testimonial").Children().RandomOrder().FirstOrDefault();

    @renderTestimonial(FirstTestimonial)
    @renderTestimonial(SecondTestimonial)
    @renderTestimonial(ThirdTestimonial)

    }

    This works but sometimes I get 2 items the same. I would like each testimonial to be different but random.

  • Ronak Panchal 71 posts 230 karma points
    Mar 27, 2019 @ 07:30
    Ronak Panchal
    0

    Hello Mark Watson,

    As per your code, it's true that you get the same items.

    First, take a list of the random item up to 3 then through looping you can display that 3 random items you don't need to take three variable like FirstTestimonial, SecondTestimonial and ThirdTestimonial Just one variable is fine for that.

    Regards, Ronak Panchal

  • Rhys Hamilton 140 posts 942 karma points
    Mar 27, 2019 @ 10:26
    Rhys Hamilton
    100

    As Ronak pointed out, you probably don't need to have three separate variables for this.

    The following code should work:

    var testimonials = Model.Content.Site().FirstChild("Testimonial").Children().RandomOrder().Take(3);
    
    foreach (var testimonial in testimonials)
    {
        @renderTestimonial(testimonial)
    }
    
  • Mark Watson 118 posts 384 karma points
    Mar 27, 2019 @ 22:23
    Mark Watson
    0

    Thanks for the replys but unfortunately the slider is control by script and I need to place the results in the controlling divs. Without the div class "active item" and the following div classes "item" this does not work.

    <div class="carousel-inner">
    <div class="active item">
    @renderTestimonial(FirstTestimonial)
    </div>
    <div class="item">
        @renderTestimonial(SecondTestimonial)
    </div>
    <div class="item">@renderTestimonial(ThirdTestimonial)
    </div>
    

  • Rhys Hamilton 140 posts 942 karma points
    Mar 28, 2019 @ 10:43
    Rhys Hamilton
    2

    In your code, the first item is active, and the rest are not.

    Using this logic, you could refactor your code, using a single variable (instead of 3) and still produce your expected output by using a counter to determine which items in your testimonials should have the "active" class.

    For example, like so:

    @{
        var testimonials = Model.Content.Site().FirstChild("Testimonial").Children().RandomOrder().Take(3);
        var counter = 1;
    
        <div class="carousel-inner">
            @foreach (var testimonial in testimonials)
            {
                // If the counter is equal to 1, then set the item class to active
                var isActive = counter == 1 ? "active item" : "";
    
                <div class="@isActive item">
                    @renderTestimonial(testimonial)
                </div>
    
                // Increment the counter, so you can't have two active items at a time
                counter++;
            }
        </div>
    }
    
  • Nik 1593 posts 7151 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    Mar 28, 2019 @ 12:03
    Nik
    2

    Rhy's solution is nice, but instead of using a counter you could use a Boolean to track if this is the first iteration when using a foreach loop.

    eg:

    var isFirst = true;
    
    <div class="carousel-inner">
        @foreach(var testimonial in testimonials)
        {
               <div class="@(isFirst ? "active item" : "item")">
                  @renderTestimonial(testimonial)
               </div>
    
               if(isFirst){isFirst = false;}
        }
    </div>
    

    Personally, I find this easier to read than having a counter that's increment all the time. If you need the counter for something else however then I'd go down that route :-)

    (It comes down to personal preference here I think, just thought it worth sharing the alternative)

  • Mark Watson 118 posts 384 karma points
    Apr 10, 2019 @ 05:13
    Mark Watson
    1

    Thanks Rhys and Nik

    Both worked perfectly.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft