Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Alicia 9 posts 89 karma points
    Apr 05, 2019 @ 12:03
    Alicia

Replacing media file without breaking the link to it - v8

I'm new to Umbraco and I'm using the "Sample Site" on my PC - vsn 8.0.1. I've created a "Content Page" and added a "Full Width" row using the templates that came with the site. To the row I added an editor, and in the editor I created a link to the document "abcs.pdf", which I had already uploaded to Media > Documents > Classroom. The link worked fine. However, when I replaced "abcs.pdf" with a new version of the file (same exact name), the new version has a new URL but my link is still pointing to the old URL and gives a 404 error.

The way I replaced the file was to navigate to it in the folder Media > Documents > Classroom, then "Remove" it, then upload the new file, then clicked "Save". Then I went to "Info" for the new file, right-clicked the URL and saw that the URL is different from the original file.

Original file was: http://umbracov8-1.local/media/j32nuj0w/abcs.pdf

New file is: http://umbracov8-1.local/media/di4piy42/abcs.pdf

In the file system on my PC, the folder http://umbracov8-1.local/media/j32nuj0w is empty, so the original file was indeed "removed".

I found a forum post from 2018 that describes this same problem but it's not helping me to resolve the issue. That post mentioned "grid" vs "media picker". I'm not familiar enough with Umbraco yet to know the difference.

This is the old post: https://our.umbraco.com/forum/using-umbraco-and-getting-started/92806-replace-a-media-file

Is the problem that the Sample Site is using "grid" ? What am I missing? How do I update a document without breaking a link to it?

• Jonathan Distenfeld 105 posts 618 karma points
    Apr 06, 2019 @ 11:52
    Jonathan Distenfeld

Hello Alicia,