Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• j0w 31 posts 202 karma points
    Apr 16, 2019 @ 20:29
    j0w

How to deploy to different environments ?

Hello there!

I'm a junior developer who just started in a web company. As main technlogy, we are using ASP.Net wit Umbraco for many sites (past and to come)

Our process for deploying is : Develop => Staging => Live

The process with Umbraco has always always been tricky for the team, because Umbraco seems to be tied to a specific DB.

I've read that it's possible to deploy in different envirnments with Umbraco Clouds, but as I understood it, the cloud must be set up for each website, right?

As I mentionned, we are using Umbraco a lot for clients. So using Umbraco Clouds for each website would probably take some time too.

Is there a way to automate the deployment up to each environment a different way, for every website we'd create in the future?

Thanks for your time !

j0w

• louisjrdev 107 posts 344 karma points c-trib
    Apr 17, 2019 @ 06:42
    louisjrdev

I would recommend looking at the docs and the video here: https://our.umbraco.com/documentation/Umbraco-Cloud/Deployment/

Umbraco Cloud is very powerful for transferring content and code between the environments, the Umbraco Cloud Training also covers all of this quite comprehensively and shows you how to properly move this content between environments and helps you mitigate any potential issues.

The core of Umbraco Cloud is that you by default get 1 environment, in this case it would usually be the production environment, then you can add additional environments (at the click of a button, though these do cost an extra 20 euros p/m), then these environments effectively clone the live environment for the setup, once completed you have 3 identical environments.

Then you can go on to use your normal workflow with:

• local pushing to dev
    • dev pushing to staging