Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• James Mangubat 2 posts 84 karma points
    Jun 25, 2019 @ 14:22
    James Mangubat

No factory has been set.

Hello! I'm new to Umbraco. When a project is ran, we encountered an error: "Exception Details: System.InvalidOperationException: No factory has been set."

Stack Trace:

[InvalidOperationException: No factory has been set.] Umbraco.Core.Composing.Current.get_Factory() +86 Umbraco.Web.Composing.ModuleInjector`1.Init(HttpApplication context) +325 System.Web.HttpApplication.RegisterEventSubscriptionsWithIIS(IntPtr appContext, HttpContext context, MethodInfo[] handlers) +584 System.Web.HttpApplication.InitSpecial(HttpApplicationState state, MethodInfo[] handlers, IntPtr appContext, HttpContext context) +168 System.Web.HttpApplicationFactory.GetSpecialApplicationInstance(IntPtr appContext, HttpContext context) +277 System.Web.Hosting.PipelineRuntime.InitializeApplication(IntPtr appContext) +369

[HttpException (0x80004005): No factory has been set.] System.Web.HttpRuntime.FirstRequestInit(HttpContext context) +532 System.Web.HttpRuntime.EnsureFirstRequestInit(HttpContext context) +111 System.Web.HttpRuntime.ProcessRequestNotificationPrivate(IIS7WorkerRequest wr, HttpContext context) +724

Any clue how this can be resolved please? Any help would be appreciated.

• mrosiak 3 posts 97 karma points
    Jun 25, 2019 @ 18:46
    mrosiak

Did you replace Global.asax? It happened to me when I copied my Global.asax from previous Umbraco 7 didn't realise the approach to invoking code on application start has been completely changed. Check this link from umbraco docs here

• James Mangubat 2 posts 84 karma points
    Jun 26, 2019 @ 03:19
    James Mangubat

Thank you! Yes. After I made global.asax available again in the project. That specific error went away. Now another issue came in but is now superficial and clearer in detail.