Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• james matson 7 posts 77 karma points notactivated
    Jun 27, 2019 @ 03:16
    james matson

Two beginner level issues with Umbraco

Note: I am a beginner to using Umbraco.

I have decided to try Umbraco out, so I have created an Umbraco installation in Azure, which looks something like this;

Umbraco install on Azure

It's working fine, however I have come up with two issues I don't understand (clearly because Umbraco is new to me).

I used the beginner tutorial to create a document type, template etc. which has worked fine and allowed me to create this home page:

https://umbraco-test.azurewebsites.net/homepage

However, I then tried to create another page, no document types etc, just a HTML page using a cut and paste of the HTML from the homepage, but placed it under the HomePage, like this (selecting HomePage as the master template)

enter image description here

My thinking here, was trying to test how to make URL paths for my pages, e.g. www.site.com/homepage/subpage/page1 however if I try to view https://umbraco-test.azurewebsites.net/homepage/subpage

I get:

Server Error in '/' Application. Runtime Error Description: An application error occurred on the server

If I place SubPage in the same place in the hierarchy as HomePage, (so no Master Template) like this:

Then I can browse the page via https://umbraco-test.azurewebsites.net/subpage. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong here? Second issue, is even though the page is viewable in the second example, I have one umbraco field of body text (which is literally just some testing text) referenced in the SubPage template as

@Umbraco.Field("bodyText")

But in the rendered page, it shows up as per below - { "NAME": "1 COLUMN LAYOUT", "SECTIONS": [ { "GRID": 12 and so on;