Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • lj 81 posts 425 karma points
    Jul 11, 2014 @ 14:01
    lj
    0

    upgrading v6.1.1 to v7.1.4

    Hi,

    Im upgrading v6.1.1 to v7.1.4 and am following the steps in http://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Installation/Upgrading/general.

    Ived copied over all the files mentioned in the COPYING FILES section ie

    Copy the following folders from inside the .zip file over the existing folders in your site:

    • /bin
    • Only for versions lower than 7.1.0:
      • /Install (don't forget to remove it after the upgrade is finished)
      • This folder is no longer present or needed in Umbraco v7.1.0+
    • /Umbraco
    • /Umbraco_Client

    now when I run the website it is still going to my hoepage and not asking me to upgrade. 

    Am i missing something here?

     

    UPDATE:copyied over the Config folder as well and now instead of the home page I am getting a blank screen I think this is a step in the right direction.

    thanks

    lj

  • Jan Skovgaard 11257 posts 23497 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    Jul 11, 2014 @ 16:39
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi lj

    Make sure to read the version specific documentation as well if you don't have done so already - http://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Installation/Upgrading/version-specific

    And more specifically this is a must read when going from 6 to 7, it's also referenced in the link I posted above: http://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Installation/Upgrading/v7-upgrade

    Make sure to read and follow the steps carefully.

    Hope this helps.

    /Jan

  • lj 81 posts 425 karma points
    Jul 11, 2014 @ 17:12
    lj
    0

    Hi Jan,

    Thanks for the reply.

    Yeah since i originally posted I have read http://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Installation/Upgrading/v7-upgrade and made the changes but am still getting this blank screen.

    I take it once youve made the correct changes the upgrade splash screen should be automaticlly show? This may seem like a silly question but how does umbraco know to show the splash screen ie what config setting does it read?

    thanksLJ

  • Jan Skovgaard 11257 posts 23497 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 11:00
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi Lj

    Well I'm not sure what it's doing under the hood but I'm guessing it's looking at the Umbraco version that's in the web.config.

    But it's weird that you don't see the upgrade screen. Have you tried looking in the /app_data/logs and see if it reveals anything?

    /Jan

  • lj 81 posts 425 karma points
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 18:07
    lj
    0

    Hi,

    yeah had a look in logs but nothing unusual there.

    Lj

  • lj 81 posts 425 karma points
    Jul 15, 2014 @ 10:34
    lj
    0

    Hi,

    by removing <add key="umbracoConfigurationStatus" value="6.1.1" /> from appsettings i now get the upgrade wizard to start.

    although this seems to be contrary to what it says in the docs

    http://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Installation/Upgrading/general

    --- The web.config file in the root of your site (Warning: Do not remove the version number, nor the existing connection string.) 

    Now however it wants to upgrade to version 6.1.1 which it is already on.

    lj


  • lj 81 posts 425 karma points
    Jul 15, 2014 @ 14:38
    lj
    0

    The splash screen is showing

    Welcome to the umbraco upgrade wizard. This will make sure that you upgrade safely from your old version to Umbraco version 6.1.1

    but i am on version 6.1.1 and i copied over all the folders from version 7.1.2.

    my question now is is there a config setting anywhere which umbraco reads to determine what version to upgrade to?

     


Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft