Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Jonathan Richards 288 posts 1742 karma points MVP
    Oct 23, 2018 @ 09:28
    Jonathan Richards
    0

    Rerun Translation Package

    Hi Kevin,

    I created two language translation files (Dictionary & Content) and sent them to a translation company to translate to French. A few weeks later I received the files translated and I uploaded them back into the System. Minus a few entries that were empty, that I need to remove by hand the process went well.

    Now I find out that the translation company in concert with the French team have been making further changes to those two language files, this was completely unbeknown to me, apparently the changes are around regulatory rules and they wish me to upload the files again.

    I can't roll back the database to just before I previously uploaded the French as in the meantime lots of other changes have happened to the site, including other languages, design changes, etc.

    So my question is, is it possible to re-upload a translation set even if it has been completed ?

    Cheers

    Jonathan

  • Kevin Jump 2129 posts 13459 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    Oct 23, 2018 @ 09:59
    Kevin Jump
    100

    Hi Jonathan,

    yes you can reset a job - it depends a bit on the version of TM you are running how you do it.

    on v2 - you should be able to go to the job in the Archive section and select reset status at the bottom of the job.

    enter image description here

    this will put the job back into the submitted state - and you should be able to upload the same files again.

    if you don't have this button then - you can do it by hand.

    v1.4 you can add ?tm=reset to the url of a job to get a reset option.

    older. all this button really does is change the status of the job in the db - so if you really are stuck you can change the status value in the DB for a job to 1 which is submitted, and then if you reload the job it should offer the opportunity to reload the file.

  • Jonathan Richards 288 posts 1742 karma points MVP
    Jan 18, 2019 @ 11:19
    Jonathan Richards
    0

    Hi Kevin,

    As ever the translation company seem unable to deliver anything correct on their first attempt, and I need to resubmit the same translation job again.

    As instructed, I pressed the big red 'Remove' button for the job in the Archive section. This indeed moved the job back to the Received section where I uploaded the new version of the file. This went well. I then press 'Select All' and then the big green 'Approve & Publish' button. After about 20 seconds I get the following error

     failed: Cannot create a file when that file already exists
    

    As you can see in the screenshot below

    Screenshot of Error

    Any help is appreciative, but just to note, the first time I submitted this job, everything went well, it is only this attempt to retry using an updated xlf file that is failing.

    Cheers

    Jonathan

  • Kevin Jump 2129 posts 13459 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    Jan 18, 2019 @ 14:18
    Kevin Jump
    0

    Hi Jonathan,

    it's a bit odd, i am fairly certain that no files get written out during the approval process , but i will have a look and see just encase.

    out of interest does the same happen if you select "Approve and Save" (from the arrow on the green button) ?

    Kevin

  • Jonathan Richards 288 posts 1742 karma points MVP
    Jan 18, 2019 @ 15:17
    Jonathan Richards
    0

    Hi Kevin,

    Sadly 'Approve & Save' returns the same error.

    Cheers

    Jonathan

  • Kevin Jump 2129 posts 13459 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    Jan 18, 2019 @ 15:56
    Kevin Jump
    1

    Hi,

    I can't reproduce this :(

    what version of translation manager are you running (the version is on the translation manager dashboard)

    Are you running anything else that might be triggered on save/save & publish? [ e.g uSync ContentEdition ;) ] just wondering if the error is bubbling up from within the save event ?

    Kevin

  • Jonathan Richards 288 posts 1742 karma points MVP
    Jan 18, 2019 @ 16:13
    Jonathan Richards
    0

    Hi Kevin,

    It is something in uSync, I have set all the handlers to false and the Save and Publish has worked.

    The really bad thing for me is that now that you have suggested it could be uSync, it might not be your code at all, I have my own Handler running in uSync as well as ones you have written.

    https://github.com/Joniff/Our.Umbraco.uSync.MemberEdition

    Strangely my Handler up to now has been working as I wanted, eg I've been using it to import and export Members with great success. And I've been very pleased with the ease you have made it to write/expand from your entry points to write your own usync handler.

    Regardless thank you for your time. I would investigate further, to see which uSync handler was causing the issue, but I stupidly just removed the job instead of resetting.

    Thank you, and honest I still love this package, and so does the client.

    Cheers

    Jonathan

    EDIT: I should note I use uSync and uSync for Content, as well as my own extra Handler for Importing/Exporting Members.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft