Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Kevin Jump 1673 posts 10586 karma points MVP 3x c-trib
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 10:32
    Kevin Jump
    1

    uSync Content Edition 0.1

    An Experiment in moving content between umbraco installations

    I've been thinking for a while - uSync is great for moving all the developery stuff between two installations - it's greate for keeping your development code upto date with the live. but you are always missing hte content.

    with uSync.ContentEdition i've been looking at how to move the content. 

    like all uSync development my aim has always been to only use the API and not touch the database. with the new v6 API this is much easier. 

    Content Edition writes content to disk and like uSync also reads from the disk, so you in theory only have to move the folder to move the content. 

    you need to matching installs to do this. you should look at uDiff and uSync they can help with that. 

    buit at the moment this is an experimental package, please try it out and tell me if it works. 

     

  • Kevin Jump 1673 posts 10586 karma points MVP 3x c-trib
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 16:24
    Kevin Jump
    0

    V0.2 Notes

    Update to ContentEdition, to make it behave more like the original uSync.

    the idea is as you develop uSync content will keep a copy of the content on the disk, checking it into source control and checking out will then sync the content.

    Folder Change: content is now saved in /uSync/Content/ not /uSync.Content/, means you only have one folder to care about

    Changes:

    • on first run in the uSync Content folder is missing, all content will be written to disk
    • you can configure ContentEdition to read/write from the disk at ever app start
    • by Default ContentEdition will attach to the save/trashed events and write to disk whenever content is saved

    • there is a config file to control all of that.

    • you can if you want change to only write out on Publish/unPublish instead of save/trashed.
  • Kevin Jump 1673 posts 10586 karma points MVP 3x c-trib
    Jul 31, 2013 @ 04:22
    Kevin Jump
    0

    v0.3 : Notes

    hopefully better A -> B -> A support

    • the import.xml is now in \App_Data\TEMP\ because it shouldn't be copied between installations (it contains the mappings unique to the install.
    • on save the files are written to disk and the mappings are updated
    • if the content was imported then when it's written out it uses the orginal GUIDS of the source system
Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft