Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Gordon Saxby 1329 posts 1580 karma points
    Jul 15, 2016 @ 13:42
    Gordon Saxby
    0

    What happens to existing content

    I am looking into using uSync.ContentEdition but am unsure how it works.

    It seems as though you cannot export specific content, only the entire content tree (and associated media).

    So, what happens when you import that into another site? For example, if there is a page called "Events" in both the source and destination site - which one would you end up with after importing?

    Also, if there is content in the destination site that is not in the source site, is it left as-is?

  • Kevin Jump 1666 posts 10579 karma points MVP 3x c-trib
    Jul 15, 2016 @ 13:51
    Kevin Jump
    0

    Hi

    Yes out of the box - Content Edition is a all or nothing sync., it will sync all content and all media.

    For content / media the syncs are date controlled, so the last updated peice of content will win.

    Content isn't deleted unless Content Edition knows it was deleted, so if you have content on the destination that isn't on the source. it won't be deleted.

    but if you delete content on the source, then that delete will be recorded and sent over to the destination and if the content exists there then it will be deleted.

    Content Edition isn't really built for partial content syncing, but you could combine it with uSync.Snapshots to get imports that are just of the things you have changed since the last one.

    it's not a courier content replacement, it's more of a content for the dev team thing.

  • Gordon Saxby 1329 posts 1580 karma points
    Jul 15, 2016 @ 14:39
    Gordon Saxby
    0

    There a multiple developers on this project and we were hoping to use it to copy content from our individual dev environments "up to" a central (staging?) site.

    Copying all of the content from each developer is fine, but we wouldn't want it to delete content from other developers. So it sounds like it would suit our particular / current needs.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft