Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Nick Roberts 6 posts 71 karma points
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 22:01
    Nick Roberts

Categories merging through multiple different blogs.

Hi all,

Ive been running into a interesting issue when trying to create multiple articulate blogs. All the categories within all of the blogs are merging. Its probably a stupid mess up on my side but cant seem to fix it.

example of what should be happening:

blog 1 - category 1

blog 2 - category 2

what is happening:

blog 1 - category 1, 2

blog 2 - category 1, 2

I noticed the tags don't have this issue or the most recent posts only specific to categories. I'm sorry if my explanation is bad i'm very new to umbraco and articulate. Any help would be much appreciated, thanks :)

• Alex Skrypnyk 6132 posts 23951 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 22:17
    Alex Skrypnyk

Hi Nick,

What datatype is used for categories?

Thanks, Alex

Apr 24, 2015 @ 23:08
    Nick Roberts

Hey Alex,

Datatype Articulate Categories is used. The property editor alias is Umbraco.Tags.

Hopefully this helps.

Thanks.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 23:15
    Alex Skrypnyk

Nick,

You have to create new category group for you second blog, now you are using one category dataType and 2 blogs, so it's merging.

Look here:

http://screencast.com/t/b8q1PHXT

Apr 24, 2015 @ 23:21
    Nick Roberts

ahhhh that makes a lot of sense!

Alright so I went ahead and created a new category datatype. 

How would i go about linking the new category datatype to the second blog instead of using the same as the first blog?

Sorry for my lack of knowledge, thanks again! ^_^

Apr 24, 2015 @ 23:34
    Alex Skrypnyk

Nick,

Alternatively you can customize your blogs, as you see root blog node has "Customize" tab, where you can change category, tag and search url param name - http://screencast.com/t/5PxV4JRa

Change url param names for second blog.