Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Peter Schermers 112 posts 134 karma points
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 08:59
    Peter Schermers

Foreach 'tabs'

As a Razor newb I'm using the 'foreach (node / item in...' quite often.

But when I have multiple TABS inside one node (all with a different name, like 'sub 1', 'sub 2' etc), how do I loop through all these UI tabs? Those tabs all share the same fields ('page title', 'content', etc).

• Hendy Racher 863 posts 3849 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:18
    Hendy Racher

Hi Peter,

How about the following (although bear in mind that this is potentially slow as is using the Document API which will hit the database).

using umbraco.cms.businesslogic;
    using umbraco.cms.businesslogic.web;

Document document = new Document(123);

foreach (ContentType.TabI tab in document.ContentType.getVirtualTabs)
    {
    }

Instead, can you identify which tab a property is on based on it's alias ?

HTH,

Hendy

Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:25
    Peter Schermers

Hi Hendy,

Thanks for your reply! Erm.... can you explain why this would be slow? And in which way?
    I mean, would my whole website become slow because of this, or just the section which includes this code?

I'm just suprised there isn't a simple solution for this, is this a such strange question? So nobody ever uses the same content in multiple tabs and uses a loop to go through all tabs?

Thanks for helping Hendy, I'll give it a try! ;-)

p

Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:30
    Peter Schermers

Ooow now I see: you can't just create properties with the same name under different tabs of one page: you have to give em all a different name!

But.... why is this? Why can't the unique part of a property be the tab which it is on (tab 1, tab 2)? 

Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:34
    Hendy Racher

Hi Peter,