Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Peter Duncanson 430 posts 1360 karma points c-trib
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 19:17
    Peter Duncanson
    0

    Upgrading from 4.8 - 6.1.5, can't get past the licence screen

    I'm doing the jump from 4.8 to 6.1.5 in one go as recommended by Morten from HQ. Its gone pretty well after a mega config file merge session (but better one of these then several if I'd gone the stepping stones approach).

    Issue I now have is when hitting the site I get usual upgrade pages showing, get past the first but on the "Accept Licence" page when I click on "Accept and Continue" button the page refreshes but nothing appears to have happened, it won't move on to the next screen.

    Code has write access to the web.config (I know this as it moved the connection string to its new page automagically), it can talk to the database just fine (as I could get into the backend before the upgrade) and I've given everyone permissions to modify everything and still nothing. web.config is reporting it still thinks its version 4.8 and there is nothing in the logs that smell funny.

    Any ideas?

  • [email protected] 408 posts 2137 karma points MVP 8x c-trib
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 21:40
    jeffrey@umarketingsuite.com
    0

    Hi Peter,

    I have little experience with upgrading (only four or five sites), but isn't there a javascript-error that gives some hints?

    Otherwise you can try a little awkward upgrade path that we're something using when upgrading in the normal way does not work:

    1) Download the latest Umbraco version

    2) Put in the correct connectionstring in the web.config and run the installer afterwards

    3) Copy in all the modified files from the old websites (/css/, /bin/<custom>.dll, /masterpages/, /usercontrols/, /etcetera/, except for the /config/, /umbraco/ and /umbraco_client/). 

    4) Try to login to /umbraco/ and republish the entire site.

    This does work sometimes for us, when we did not too much obscure coding in the site.

    Hope this helps you out,

    Jeffrey

  • Peter Duncanson 430 posts 1360 karma points c-trib
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 11:18
    Peter Duncanson
    0

    Thats pretty much the method I've been using. There is no JS error (that would be to easy). Its as if the whole page is doing a refresh but ignoring my button click. I wonder if its struggling on something but swallowing the error, I'm guessing permissions as thats always a pain in the ass but I thought I'd got all those ok.

    Cheers

    Pete

  • Peter Duncanson 430 posts 1360 karma points c-trib
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 12:32
    Peter Duncanson
    0

    Ok a little update, we've downloaded the source, compiled as debug and when stepping through it all the GotoNextStep event when clicking the button is never getting called. This is a bit screwy. We think its something to do with our web.config and us including something in the request pipe line that shouldn't be...more to follow as and when we have it :(

  • Peter Duncanson 430 posts 1360 karma points c-trib
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 14:58
    Peter Duncanson
    0

    I think our issue is down to the fact that all the new database migration magic only appeared in 4.9 and not anything before it. So before upgrading we should really have gone to 4.9 and them go up from there to the latest cut of 6. Reason I say this is I'm getting lots of missing database constraint/fields/tables throwing errors that the migration scripts expect to be there and I wonder if they where added before 4.9?

    I'm creating some little tidy up scripts now to try to put some of this right which I'll post up if they are any good.

  • Peter Duncanson 430 posts 1360 karma points c-trib
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 15:51
    Peter Duncanson
    101

    Right you lovely people, here is what I've had to do to get this upgrade from 4.8 to 6.1.5 to work. Where possible I've tried to find out why it was not working but I still don't have all the answers.

    First up, merge all your config files, use WinMerge in folder comparision mode (just select folder rather than a file) to make it easier/quicker. Merge in any changes in formatting too so that future merges have less "changed" stuff in them, a lot of the files have removed the last space on self closing xml elements for instance. Follow suit and keep it all as up to date as you can. Move anything custom to the bottom of each section now and ensure its all commented up agian to ease future upgrading.

    Next problem, the postBack events would not fire during the install and I've no idea why. Tried everything I know to track it down but no luck. These are needed to navigate through each step of the install which is a pain. In the end I gave up and manually visited each page required for the upgrade, just cut and paste each of these into your browser to work your way through each of the steps.

    /install/?installStep=welcome - the intial "hey lets upgrade!" screen

    /install/?installStep=licence - you can actually skip this one I believe but still its good to have a read...

    Now got to MS SQL Manager and then run this script which will add in two missing bits of goodness that the upgrade page is going to need:

    -- Needed for the "There are no primary or candidate keys in the referenced table 'dbo.umbracoApp' that match the referencing column list in the foreign key 'FKumbracoUser2appumbracoApp'." error
    ALTER TABLE [dbo].[umbracoUser2app]  WITH CHECK ADD  CONSTRAINT [FK_umbracoUser2app_umbracoApp] FOREIGN KEY([app]) REFERENCES [dbo].[umbracoApp] ([appAlias])

    -- Needed for the "'FK_umbracoAppTree_umbracoApp' is not a constraint. Could not drop constraint." error
    ALTER TABLE [dbo].[umbracoAppTree]  WITH CHECK ADD  CONSTRAINT [FK_umbracoAppTree_umbracoApp] FOREIGN KEY([appAlias]) REFERENCES [dbo].[umbracoApp] ([appAlias])
     
    With that done its safe to move on but a word of warning...there might be more nasties we've missed! This worked for us. On the next page it "should" get you up to 100% on the progress bar in which case you are done. However if you hit the page twice (or suffer from the same issue I hit of not being able to do postBacks then its possible this page will reload) it will show you 90% progress and complain about "missing field in cmsContentType". Ignore that, its just trying to run all the migration scripts again and its already cleared that bit up so its a red herring you are good to go. Also if it hangs on 5% then you are also good to go, it should not run at all but for some reason it is, ignore this you are all good. Right with those warnings and heads ups in place, go visit this url:

    /install/?installStep=database - the big one! 

    Got 100%? Good then go this one:

    /install/?installStep=theend - last step, this is the one that updates your version number in web.config which signals that you are up to date woop!
    Annnnnd we are done! Login to the backend and do a quick republish entire site, sit back and have a brew you earnt it. Next step is seeing what that actually broke but that will be unique to each install, hopefully everything should "just work" depends how much custom stuff you have.
    Thanks to these posts for pointers:
    I'm actually really proud of the fact that you can make such a big jump in versions and the new migrations seem to work on the whole, its a big step forward from previous upgrades (although anyone reading this might say "you think that was easy!?!?!") shame about the issues I had but thats what happens when I try to go from an unsupported version (4.8.1) rather than the first version to have migrations in it (4.9).
    Hope this helps some one and I hope it means we might be able to get this fixed in the core and prevent anyone else having similar issues.
    Pete and Ste @ Offroadcode :)
  • Funka! 398 posts 661 karma points
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 00:22
    Funka!
    1

    Just a cynical side note on your comment "Merge in any changes in formatting too so that future merges have less "changed" stuff in them" -- my experience is that there is no consistency in this at all, and every version upgrade re-introduces wild formatting, linebreak, and whitespace changes in the config files. My process is to normalize all config files first (my own existing ones as well as the newly downloaded ones) before comparing them, it makes this much easier. (You can also configure your difference engine to ignore certain whitespace rules, but this only helps partially.)

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft