Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Nico Viergever 20 posts 81 karma points
    May 17, 2015 @ 23:38
    Nico Viergever

New to Umbraco - questioning quality

I am new to Umbraco and I was very curious about it. But both the installation and the first usage caused a lot of confusion, frustration and both logical and technical errors. I needed several installs before I got it working.

Now I am finding my way and I decided to try out a few starting kits and other extensions. So far every single one of them ran straight into an error.

After these experiences I have serious doubts about the quality of Umbraco. Is there any guarantee of quality assurance? Is this even an issue?

Right now I have doubts if Umbraco is the right way forward for me.

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    May 18, 2015 @ 05:41
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Nico and welcome to our :)

I'm sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced installing it and testing it.

But it would help to know what version of Umbraco you are trying to use and what packages you have been installing and if there are some more detailed error messages / screendumps of the issues you're facing.

Since there are active Umbraco versions from 4.x to 7.2.x out in the wild there are packages available that are not compatible with 4.x as well as there are packages not compatible with 7.x etc. - But this also makes it easy to make the mistake of forgetting to check compatibility and install an incompatible version of a package to a wrong version of Umbraco.

And unfortunately sometimes the 3rd party package, which are in most cases created by members of the community, can make some weird errors for different reasons. But Umbraco HQ can't control the quality and compatibility of those packages.