Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Kevin 18 posts 108 karma points
    Aug 08, 2018 @ 15:45
    Kevin

Cannot bind source type to model type

I'm trying to make a simple table pulling from a custom table in the SQL CE Umbraco.sdf. I'm new to MVC so this may be an issue in my understanding or implementation of it.

I've looked through almost all of the related problems on the forum and still can't seem to understand it.

Sometimes the problem seems to be between @model and @inherits? I'm using the PureLive models of Models Builder. I've tried to make my model inherit from RenderModel, and that just says the RenderModel doesn't contain a constructor for 0 arguments, so I'm not sure that's the direction I'd want to go (or even when it would be).

Can someone explain why this error occurs and how I might fix it?

The exception thrown

Umbraco.Web.Mvc.ModelBindingException: Cannot bind source type USNStarterKit.USNModels.USNBaseViewModel to model type System.Collections.Generic.IEnumerable`1[[AnviPayorListViewModel, App_Code.mvefwepm, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null]].

My ViewModel

public class AnviPayorListViewModel
    {
        public string PayorID { get; set;}

public string PayorName { get; set;}
    }

My Controller

using System.Web.Mvc;

public class AnviPayorListController : Umbraco.Web.Mvc.SurfaceController
    {

[System.Web.Http.HttpGet]
        public ActionResult GetPayors()
        {
            //Connect to custom table DB
            var db = ApplicationContext.DatabaseContext.Database;

//Get list of payors to iterate over
           var payors = db.Fetch<AnviPayorListViewModel>("SELECT * FROM Payors");

//return PartialView("USNForms/AnviPayorResults", AnviPayorListViewModel);
            return PartialView(payors);
        }
    }   

My PartialView (GetPayors.cshtml)

@inherits UmbracoViewPage<IEnumerable<AnviPayorListViewModel>>