Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Thomas 7 posts 87 karma points
    Nov 19, 2021 @ 14:23
    Thomas

Umbraco 9 - using components

Hi

I'm completely new to Umbraco, coming from Sitecore. Is it possible to create reusable components similar to Sitecore? For example, a user creates a component with the template Sidemenu, which is then inserted onto several pages.

Thanks.

• Marc Goodson 2141 posts 14344 karma points MVP 8x c-trib
    Nov 21, 2021 @ 20:09
    Marc Goodson

Hi Thomas

There are a couple of ways to do this depending on your strategy for editing content in your site implementation.

If your pages have their main content drawn from a single Rich Text Editor field, then you might want to create a 'Macro' - https://our.umbraco.com/documentation/reference/templating/macros/

This allows editors to insert the Macro inside the rich text area, optionally supplying parameters to change the output of the Macro, and you implement the templating output in a Partial View.

If you are using the Umbraco Grid to give the editor greater control of the layout of the page, then in addition to using Macros again to insert into different grid cells, you could create your own custom 'grid editor' - https://our.umbraco.com/Documentation/Fundamentals/Backoffice/Property-Editors/Built-in-Property-Editors/Grid-Layout/Grid-Editors#custom-grid-editors to create an editable reusuable component.