Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jonas Muliolis 9 posts 29 karma points
    Feb 21, 2013 @ 04:01
    Jonas Muliolis

Problems on initial deployment

Hi, all.

I'm a developer working on a site for a client. I've got a new site (Umbraco 4.9.1). Staging site is where all updates happen, and production site, is solely fed by Courier (2.7.3.39). I start with an empty production DB, and fully populated and ready-to-go staging site. I've set up sitestaging.local and siteprod.local on my local IIS to test Courier. The client already has their license and is waiting for me to resolve this issue before we deploy.

My overall structure (simplified) is as follows:

SiteRoot - Doc type contains site-level properties like location of News Folder, Search Results Page, etc.
    - SubSection One (Page)
    -------- SubPage... (Page)
    - SubSection Two (Page)
    - SubSection Three (Page)
    - Search (Page)
    - Contact Us (Page)
    - Static Content (Folder)
    -------- Header Menu (Folder)
    ------------ MenuLink (Custom Document Type)
    -------- Footer Menu (Folder)
    -------- News (Folder)
    ------------ 2013 (Folder)
    ------------------- News Item 1
    ------------------- News Item 2
    ------------ 2012 (Folder)
    ------------------- News Item 3
    ------------------- News Item 4
    -------- Quick Links Menu (Folder)
    ------------ Column One Links (Folder)
    ------------------- MenuLink (Custom Document Type)
    ------------ Column Two Links (Folder)
    -------- Section Links Menu (Folder)

Starting with courier folders empty, all logging enabled, do a right-click deploy of the Site Root, including all children, macros, etc. The intention is to completely sync up the databases.