Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Josip 195 posts 662 karma points c-trib
    Aug 30, 2018 @ 14:15
    Josip

Umbraco Instal, publish, database etc.

Hello, I am new to umbraco and i have some questions... What is the best and easiest way to instal umbraco? Should i install umbraco every time when i want to create new project and do i need database for every umbraco project even if it will be only static website? When i finish my project how can i upload it on shared server, visual studio? If yes, do i have some other options, what is the best way to do that...

I have tried DNN CMS and now i want to try umbraco so i can decide which one is better for me or maybe i can use both.

So if someone can tell me which one is better for fast static websites and which one is better for custom applications.

I have read some posts and watched some videos but more i read i have bigger mess in my head.

• Jamie Pollock 174 posts 853 karma points c-trib
    Aug 30, 2018 @ 14:40
    Jamie Pollock

Hey Josip,
    Firstly Umbraco has some great documentation how to get started.

I recommend looking at the Install page. Personally I prefer the NuGet install method but the method outlined on the Install page works perfectly fine.

Each Umbraco instance is its own application. So for each individual web application you create you'll need to install Umbraco again for that web application. While you can have multiple domains pointing to a single Umbraco instance this is only recommended if they share a common code base. If they're entirely different websites then you should create different Umbraco instances.

As for Databases. Each Umbraco instance requires its own database. While the install wizard will give you a SQL Compact Edition (CE) to play with this database is not suitable for production. So a SQL Server database is recommended.