Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Sune Radich Vestergaard 1 post 71 karma points
    Apr 05, 2019 @ 08:57
    Sune Radich Vestergaard

Using Umbraco Headless with React?

First of all, bear with me. I am a frontend developer with very little techinical Umbraco knowledge. I've worked on frontends on 'regular' umbraco solutions, but have never myself configured or setup an umbraco site before.

Basically what I want to understand is this: How can I use Umbraco Headless with a ReactJS application?

I've found this page in the documentaion https://our.umbraco.com/documentation/Umbraco-Cloud/Headless/ it contains several ways to use Umbraco Headless with .Net, but only very little about Node.js/React. Also, the npm package mentioned seems outdated and incomplete, as it contains very little, and the code within have alot of //not implemented comments. On top of that, it contains no README, and was last updated a year ago.

I have access to a Umbraco Headless instance, and if I request from /umbraco/rest/v1/content/published/ i will get quite a lot of data. Are there any documentation about what the data means, and how you are supposed to use it?

Are there any best-practice to how you consume the data? How you manage the various components? How you map your react component with the right data from Umbraco?

Or is the best practice to go with .Net and use Umbraco Headless that way?

• saurabh 1 post 71 karma points
    Jun 14, 2019 @ 22:34
    saurabh

Hi Sune , I have similar requirement to use React.js as a frontend app for Umbraco ,please let me know if you got any answer else where.Thanks.

• John Bergman 483 posts 1132 karma points
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 07:10
    John Bergman

Are you needing a web api, or do you want to pull content (html) over into the react application?

• louisjrdev 107 posts 344 karma points c-trib
    Jun 17, 2019 @ 08:53
    louisjrdev