Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • mauricio lopez 12 posts 33 karma points
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 18:53
    mauricio lopez
    0

    check if umbraco:Item is empty

    Is there a way in the master template to verify if a umbraco:Item is empty and show an alternative content?

    I have this code in my master page:

    <div id="contenedor_slider">
    <asp:placeholder runat="server">
    <umbraco:Item runat="server" field="slidernivo" />
    </asp:placeholder>
    </div>

    The dynamic field "slidernivo" can be changed by the backend on an specific documenttype. The administrator can publish html images on it and a js component take them to create an slider. But sometimes some this space is nof filled for the admin, and the slider stays blank. So I would like to have a logic to show a default image.

    Please someone tell me what is the best approach.

  • bob baty-barr 1180 posts 1294 karma points MVP
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 19:48
    bob baty-barr
    0

    in the insert umbraco item dialog, you can have fallbacks if the content is empty...

    <umbraco:Item field="pageHeading"
     useIfEmpty="umbracoFile"
     textIfEmpty="You need to fill in one of the properties above"
     runat="server"></umbraco:Item>

    so in the example above, it the item is empty, we are displaying a diffrent item and if the second item is ALSO empty, we are displaying some text. You could make that a default image, etc.

    hope that helps

  • mauricio lopez 12 posts 33 karma points
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 20:19
    mauricio lopez
    0

    hey thanks a lot for the answer.

    But I still have problems. The useIfempty I can not use it, because I need a default value that can not be changed by the cms admin. The textIfempty looked promising

    but it did not like html tags, it just support text. Any other idea?

  • bob baty-barr 1180 posts 1294 karma points MVP
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 20:37
    bob baty-barr
    0

    you can use html by escaping the characters ie...

    &lt;img src=&quot;a p&quot;/&gt;

    you also might want to look into a couple of default value projects in the project section.

    http://our.umbraco.org/projects/developer-tools/standard-values-in-umbraco

    for example??? let me know if that helps.

  • mauricio lopez 12 posts 33 karma points
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 21:30
    mauricio lopez
    0
    you can use html by escaping the characters ie...

     

    Awesome, that made the trick.

    Thanks so much for sharing your knowledge

    This is really nice:

    Standard Values in Umbraco

     

    But I am using umbraco 4.5 so I have to be picky about projects until they are fully compatible.

    regards

     

     

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies