Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Josh Blade 7 posts 27 karma points
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 00:44
    Josh Blade

Recaptcha

I'm trying to add a recaptcha to the blogs on our website. Mainly I'm trying to figure out how to set up a reference to the Recaptcha.dll

Can I do this through the umbraco login on a web browser? Someone else set up our Umbraco and I'm new to this trying to figure it out. I was told that our Visual Studio isn't controlling any part of the site which uses Umbraco, so this confuses me as everything I've seen on reCaptcha has you go through visual studio when using Umbraco.

• Lee Kelleher 4020 posts 15802 karma points MVP 13x admin c-trib
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 03:43
    Lee Kelleher

Hi Josh,

Coincidently, I have just added a reCAPTCHA to one of my client's Umbraco websites a few minutes ago.  You shouldn't need to open Visual Studio, but you will need to create a new .NET user-control to use it.

Drop the Recaptcha.dll (and Recaptcha.pdb) into your /bin folder.

On your form, you'll need to incorporate the following into the .NET user-control:

<%@ Control Language="C#" %>
    <%@ Register TagPrefix="recaptcha" Namespace="Recaptcha" Assembly="Recaptcha" %>

<script runat="server">
        protected void btnSubmit_Click(object sender, System.EventArgs e)
        {
            this.recaptcha.Validate();

if (Page.IsValid && this.recaptcha.IsValid)
            {
                /* ... add whatever code you need here ... */
            }
            else
            {
                this.recaptcha.Focus();
            }
        }
    </script>

<div>
        <recaptcha:RecaptchaControl ID="recaptcha" runat="server" Theme="white" Enabled="true" />
        <asp:Button runat="server" ID="btnSubmit" Text="Submit" OnClick="btnSubmit_Click" />
    </div>