Nov 29, 2010 @ 12:29
    Andrew Arnott

Tiny MCE - not saving changes

Umbraco 4.5.2 for .Net 3.5

Windows 7

SQL Server 2008 R2

Hi.

This is my first build using 4.5.2.

I'm having the vexing problem of not being able to sabve any changes made in rich text fields. Seeing as this is a new development build, that means that all rich text fields are simply remaining blank.

When I hsave (or save and publish) changes, the Umbraco client informs me ni the usual way that this was successful. However, the changes are not written to the database (or to umbraco.cofig). When I relaod the item in the Ubraco content tree, the richt text fields are all blank again.

Is this something anyone's come across before? How can I get this working again?

Thanks,

Andrew

• Kim Andersen 1447 posts 2196 karma points MVP
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 14:18
    Kim Andersen

Hi Andrew.

Sounds a little bit like a permission issue. Could you try checking your file permissions to the umbraco.config file.

Umbraco must have the rights to modify this file before any new content can be saved successfully. Is it just changes made in the Richtext Editor, or is is all changes that you make to your nodes?

/Kim A

• Andrew Arnott 9 posts 29 karma points
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 14:20
    Andrew Arnott

The Umbraco process in IIS7 has full control (it's a dev enviroment, so no harm in that) - in fact the local users group and the IUSRS accoutn also do.

Changes to other field types are being saved, just no to rich text fields.

Nov 30, 2010 @ 10:56
    Andrew Arnott

I've restored the umbraco_client and config fodlers to the ones in the orignial download, to no avail.

Nov 30, 2010 @ 11:51
    Andrew Arnott

And now I've put back everything from the downloaded zip, leaving only my own masterpages and user controls in place. This has not helped at all.

I am really struggling here. Any suggestions?