Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Byron Delgado 47 posts 70 karma points
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 23:40
    Byron Delgado

Multilingual 1:1 help information needed

Hi, I am new in Umbraco, our company is looking forward to use Umbraco as our main CMS solution for our clients. One of the main features we need to implement is to facilitate multilingual 1:1 pages, this is because some sections are going to be populated by a lot of items, and editors would like to have every translation in the same item (node).

For what I have seen in this forum everyone making reference to a "Multilingual 1:1 book" tutorial at

http://umbraco.org/documentation/books/multilingual-11-sites

but the link is broken. Anyone knows where to find this guide or a similar one.

Any help is very appreciated.

• Sascha Wolter 615 posts 1101 karma points
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 00:32
    Sascha Wolter

Hi Byron,

Can't find that document anymore either, but I stumbled across this nice slideshow by Paul Marden: http://www.slideshare.net/mardenpb1/multi-lingual-websites-in-umbraco

It uses a combination of separate branches for each language and the tabbed system (aka 1:1), this should give you some ideas on how this will work and look.

Any specific questions please don't hesitate to ask here!

Hope that helps,

Sascha

Jan 12, 2011 @ 00:47
    Byron Delgado

Thanks Sascha,

Still I'd like to see a tutorial about this. In the slides the author mentions that editors prefer a tabbed solution, besides the author proposes to relate every document to its translated equivalent with the help content picker, if a website has 4 languages then every document translation has to be related 4 times between themselves, this will become very messy I guess, especially for editors ina very populated site.

It will be great to find an example about Multilingual 1:1, I have been looking everywhere : (

Byron

Jan 13, 2011 @ 16:54