Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Tony Bolton 83 posts 109 karma points
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 01:21
    Tony Bolton

Tab menu with dropdowns

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the whole Umbraco thing, so hopefully I've got the right forum for this one!

In the past I created horizontal tabbed navigation with sliding dropdowns using DevExpress components and binding to a hierarchical datasource.

With Umbraco, I get the impression everything is very lightweight (great) and there's obviously better ways of doing this.  Basically I want to achieve :

1 - A tab menu which I can graphically style across the top of the site - where it responds to mouseovers with highlights etc.
    2 - When a tab is hovered over, if that root page has sub pages, a menu slides down with the subpages.
    3 - If the tab is the current page, the tab has a different color.

Sorry I know it's a list - I just need to know if there's anything already out there I can just 'slot' into Umbraco and if not, how difficult is the above to achieve and any pointers?

To see what I mean I've got a test page set up here : http://tjbsoftware.eweb701.discountasp.net/Home

Warning though - it's vereeeeery slow so be patient (and it uses <gulp> Sitefinity, which I'm ditching) :)

Cheers!

Tony

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 08:20
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Tony and welcome to the lovely world of Umbraco :-)

I don't think that there is something pluggable you can just download and install to get this kind of menu working.

But lately there have been more questions like this on how to create such a menu.

In short what you need to do is