Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Tony Bolton 83 posts 109 karma points
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 21:16
    Tony Bolton

Advice on record-based structures - to SQL or not SQL?

Hi,

I'm very new to Umbraco, and just need a bit of advice of that's ok.

I wrote a business module a while back which has a usercontrol which the user can enter businesses into.  With Umbraco, I guess the way they'd do this is within a Document Type so that they could fill in details about the Business.

Now my module (I wrote it for Sitefinity) is very straightforward, dumping entries entered into a form into the backend db.  I could then use this on the site for displaying businesses by category etc.

With the Umbraco approach, am I correct in my assumptions that you'd just use a Document Type?  And if so, what's the performance like if they've entered hundreds of entries?   I'd also want to be able to assign a business to any number of categories - is this doable within Umbraco's structure?

Apologies for the questions - just finding my feet!

Cheers,
    Tony

• Ismail Mayat 4511 posts 10090 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 08:06
    Ismail Mayat

Tony,

You can also still put data into db table.  If the data is to be entered by website users then you can expose that usercontrol as a .net macro.  If the entry of data is for cms users then you can expose that control as a dashboard control.  Take a look at umbraco.org/tv there are videos on creating macros and dashboard controls its a paid service but worth it to kick start umbraco development.  Also do a dig under the wiki section on this site plenty of goodies there as well.

Regards

Ismail

• René Kuss 10 posts 23 karma points
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 08:39
    René Kuss

Hi Ismail,