Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • praveen 113 posts 164 karma points
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 00:55
    praveen
    0

    Read Textbox datatype value in usercontrol

    Hi There,

    I have created a Textbox datatype called "EmailAddressContact "

    now I want to read EmailAddressContact .Text in my UserControl code.

    Your help is greatly appreciated

    Regards

    Sword

     

     

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 08:21
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi praveen

    I think you might find this helpfull then: http://our.umbraco.org/wiki/reference/api-cheatsheet/modifying-document-properties

    Here you can also see how to create new nodes using the API etc.

    Hope this helps.

    /Jan

  • praveen 113 posts 164 karma points
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 09:09
    praveen
    0

    Hi Jan

    Many thanks for the reply and the solution

    can you please tell me how do I get the document id (1029)

    Document doc = new Document(1029);

    I think i need to do the follwing to read value of the document property

    string emailtext = doc.getProperty("EmailAddressContact ").Value ;

    Please let me know, and many thanks for your help.

    Kind Regards

  • Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 11x admin c-trib
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 10:25
    Jan Skovgaard
    0

    Hi praveen

    You find the nodeid in Umbraco backoffice by either looking at a specific document in the "properties" tab - Here you can see the ID.

    You can also just hold your mouse over a specific node and look in the lower left corner. Here you'll also see the ID of the node.

    But it's never a good idea to use hardcoded ID's in the code so I think you should be able to access the ID of the current node the macro is being used on by writing something like this:

    Node node =  Node.GetCurrent().id; This should give you the id of the current node, so you can then pass the "node" to the

    Document doc = new Document(node);

    Does this make sense to you? (I'm not that skilled at C# :))

    /Jan

  • jigar 170 posts 233 karma points
    May 16, 2011 @ 08:36
    jigar
    0

    Is this resolved? Did you able to use the value of your custom doctype? I need to do similar stuff so...

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies