Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Greg Berlin 818 posts 634 karma points
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 07:06
    Greg Berlin
    0

    Node hiding from tree in 4.6.1 - Bug??

    This is a kind of weird one and i'm not really sure where to start searching for a solution to it. Smells like a bug to me, but maybe a tricky one to get to the bottom of...

    Basically, my client was editing a node yesterday, and when he saved it, the node dissappeared from the tree. It wasn't in the recycle bin, and reloading nodes multiple times had no effect.. it was simply gone.  Yet its contents still rendered to the page. 

     

    I tried republishing the site, and even emptying the recycle bin.. no change. 

    I then created a new version of that node. It's Name did not receive an additional number as it would if it was a duplicate, so it seems Umbraco didnt think that node was there.. makes sense i guess, and at this point i was sure it was the xml file that had it cached on the front end.  So i deleted that file, touched the web config, even restarted the website and reloaded... still, same thing.

    (Image shows the tree with the missing node empty (its another instance of 'Sekotong')

    Then i tried to sort the nodes in which the hidden node seems to exist, and it appears in the sort dialogue!!

    So why would it be hidden from the main tree, but not from the sort dialogue?  Does the tree get cached somewhere too?

    any ideas how i can troubleshoot this one... i'll start digging through the DB when i get home tonight, but any pointers as to which tables etc to look at would be great.  

    Or better yet if you've come across this before and fixed it, that'd be super awesome :)

  • Daniel Bardi 927 posts 2562 karma points
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 08:03
    Daniel Bardi
    0

    What happens when you try to change the sort order and save?  Does the node reappear?  Haven't seen this before.

    Things to try:

    • Delete or rename the new node with the same name and reorder.
    • Inspect the html of the page (FireBug) and see if it's even rendering?
    • Try moving parent node then move it back.
    • Clear out ClientDependency folder and change version #
    Let us know if/when it's working.

  • Greg Berlin 818 posts 634 karma points
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 08:32
    Greg Berlin
    0

    Some good suggestions... her's my observations so far:

    • Delete or rename the new node with the same name and reorder.
    • Tried to reorder... works fine (as you would expect if there were in fact 4 nodes there). See:
    • Inspect the html of the page (FireBug) and see if it's even rendering?
    • It's not rendering in the tree view:
    • Try moving parent node then move it back.
    • Tried.... moved to another node... displays the same, and sorts the same.  Republished entire site, reload nodes, etc... no difference.  Moved back to original location... that node is definitely part of that tree, its just not getting rendered by the treeview control.
    • Clear out ClientDependency folder and change version #
    • The App_Data/ClientDependency folder is already empty...

     

  • Daniel Bardi 927 posts 2562 karma points
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 09:06
    Daniel Bardi
    0

    Try App_Data/TEMP/ClientDepenency/

    What about reseting the ClientDependency version ?  Change it from 1 to 2.  Then touch the web.config.

    Try republishing the parent and check to publsh unpublished nodes .

    Is there any differnce between the old node and the new node in the database?  You should catch it there.

    Do you know the id of the node.. try opening the editor page directly and setting the id=xxxx (xxx=node id) on the querystring to see if the node will open in the editor.. then save again or unpublish and republish.  http://www.site.com/umbraco/editContent.aspx?id=1234

  • Greg Berlin 818 posts 634 karma points
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 11:02
    Greg Berlin
    0

    Okay.. an update...

    Deleted both clientdependency folders, changed the version number, touched web.config, restarted the website... no go

    Republished parent node with both tickboxes checked... no go

    Not yet looked at the db.. thats my next step

    Trying to load the edit page of the dodgy node results in this error:

    No Document exists with Version '7674e470-3bbd-449c-9a6e-64dced665c81'

    I think the DB is the only way to fix this one... it sure is a weird one... thanks for your help Daniel  i'll let you know how i go

     

  • Greg Berlin 818 posts 634 karma points
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 12:01
    Greg Berlin
    1

    I fixed it... to be honest i'm not sure what caused it, and i dont have time to figure it out now, so i just deleted all the content items etc for that nodeId, and now all is well.

    The script to delete content item and all related items is:

    delete from cmsContentVersion where contentid = 1153

    delete from cmsContentXml where nodeId = 1153

    delete from cmsDocument where nodeId = 1153

    delete from cmsContent where nodeId = 1153

    delete from cmsPropertyData where contentNodeId = 1153

    delete from umbracoNode where id = 1153

  • Daniel Bardi 927 posts 2562 karma points
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 18:25
    Daniel Bardi
    0

    I feel that it might have been related to content versions.  Clearing old versions with Housekeeping might have resolved the issue.

    Glad you got it working... I've noted the script for possible future use..

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft