Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• mcgwest 23 posts 55 karma points
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 07:37
    mcgwest

Search Box in Admin UI

I'm new to Umbraco and I just installed v4. What is the search box at the top of the admin UI supposed to do? Does it actually do anything?

• Dirk De Grave 4541 posts 6021 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 08:42
    Dirk De Grave

Hi,

It is supposed to.... search! As a quick test, create a new document. After creation, get in to the search box and enter the name of the document you've just created. I'm thinking it is waiting for a number of chars to fire the search. If a document matches your search, it will be 'google suggested' with name of the document and the node id in parenthesis.

Hope this helps.

Regards,
    /Dirk

• Niels Hartvig 1951 posts 2391 karma points c-trib
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 11:45
    Niels Hartvig

I'm working on opening search results in a new window if you hit enter. Right now it's auto suggest based, or opens a modal search box if you hit space in the search box.

• rorythecheese 110 posts 56 karma points
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 12:44
    rorythecheese

Another thing i found is that if you click on the search box then press spacebar another window pops up where you can do a search and it lists results in the popup. You can click on the results and it takes you to the page in your content tree. Is usefull when there's loads of pages to navigate through.

Feb 20, 2009 @ 12:58
    Niels Hartvig

There's even accesskeys to the search results, so if you want to go to search result 4, simply hit ALT+4 and Enter (on windows) - can't remember the function key to use on OSX

• mcgwest 23 posts 55 karma points
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 16:24
    mcgwest

Thanks for the quick response! Much appreciated.