Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• CodeMaster2008 151 posts 184 karma points
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 15:24
    CodeMaster2008

How to get XPath DropDownList to list child nodes?

Hi there;

Since I'm not good with XLST i'm having a hard time to figure this one out.
    I have a node of type "PhotoGallery" which has subnodes of type "Photo". Something like

PhotoGallery
      |----Photo1
      |----Photo2

The idea is to have a DropDownList inside "Photogallery" with a list of all of its "Photos", so I can pick one to use as a thumbnail.

The problem is that I can't figure out a XPath Expression that will return the child nodes of type "Photo", I tried the one bellow (and many others) but it didn't work:

$currentPage//node [@nodeTypeAlias = 'Photo']

I really appreciate any help.
    Thanks in advance.

• Tom Fulton 2030 posts 4998 karma points c-trib
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 15:39
    Tom Fulton

Hi,

"node" is the old schema and is no longer used, instead you can replace it with the nodeTypeAlias you are looking for

Ex:

$currentPage/Photo [@isDoc]

-Tom

Apr 27, 2011 @ 15:47
    CodeMaster2008

Hey Tom;

Thanks man but that is still returning empty.
    I'm using the uComponents XPath DropDownList:
    http://ucomponents.codeplex.com/wikipage?title=XPathDropDownList&referringTitle=Documentation

• Hendy Racher 863 posts 3849 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 15:49
    Hendy Racher

Hi CodeMaster2008,

Which version of Umbraco are you using ? Your XPath expression looks fine for the legacy schema, but if you're using the latest schema (found in 4.5+) then the following should work:

$currentPage//Photo

or if the current page is unpublished and hence not in the Xml:

$ancestorOrSelf//Photo

HTH,

Hendy

Apr 27, 2011 @ 16:05
    CodeMaster2008

Hey,