Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jason N 55 posts 79 karma points
    May 06, 2011 @ 19:47
    Jason N

Rich text editor for macro parameter type

Umbraco newbie here.  I'm trying to create a macro parameter that is of type rich text much like the rich text editor property datatype but I don't see anything like that in the available selections.  The closest thing I see is text and textMultiLine.  Do I need to create a custom data type for this?

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    May 06, 2011 @ 23:59
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Jason

The rich text editor is not one of the default parameters. Unfortunately I don't know how to add another parameter type option...

But why do you need the parameter to be a rich text editor? In what situation would you need this? Perhaps there is another way to do what you're trying to achieve.

Please ellaborate a bit more on what you're trying to do :-)

/Jan

May 09, 2011 @ 17:23
    Jason N

I'm going to have a sidebar with a few different types of widgets for the content editor to choose from.  I'm using a macro container to do this.  I would like one of them to be a generic free form widget that they can work with using a rich text editor.  Currently I'm using the textMultiline editor and pasting in raw html but I'm noticing that even though my content is being saved and publishes to the site, when I leave the document and come back to it the content is no longer in the macro form.  Is this a bug or might I have something setup incorrectly?  I am new to Umbraco so if you know of a better way for me to accomplish what I'm trying to do then please share!  Thank you.

Jason

May 09, 2011 @ 19:38
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Jason

Hmmm..

I'm not sure what is going on with the content disappearing - does it disappear from the website as well?