Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• kentiler 76 posts 69 karma points
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 20:03
    kentiler

Recommendations for implementing an image gallery

Hi,

I'm setting up my first Umbraco site, and I'm moving an existing site into it. I've used many CMS systems before in the past, but I'm new to Umbraco.

The site I'm moving is www.iler.com/labs.

If you look under "fun pictures" you'll see many images. My goal would be to setup a template where I could upload an original picture, use ImageGen to create an image with the normal and thumbnail sizes, and allow the editor to enter a description.

My understanding is that if I do an upload on the documenttype, that the images can only be referenced by that single page.

Does anyone have any recommendations for implementing this so it's a single page for uploading, but the images would be available for any other page on the site?

Thanks!

--Kent

• Thorsten Hoffmann 48 posts 119 karma points
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 09:43
    Thorsten Hoffmann

http://betaviewer.com - for use with flickr oder 23hq

Thorsten

• kentiler 76 posts 69 karma points
    Apr 24, 2009 @ 03:01
    kentiler

So do you have to have the images on flickr or 23hq first? I want to be able to directly upload the images just to the website.

Thanks!

--Kent

• Horst Sterr 171 posts 133 karma points
    Apr 24, 2009 @ 11:44
    Horst Sterr

Hi kentiler,

i loaded up all photos to the media section in a certain folder (doing this is quite easy with thomas höhlers "Utilities for Umbraco")

After this u can use any kind of javascript gallery (i prefer to use the "triptracker slideshow" script) combined with some xslt

- Utilities for Umbraco
    - Triptracker Slideshow
    - Example

-edit-
    ...and you can expand the mediatype for photos with a property to add a subtitle to each single photo

horst

• dandrayne 1138 posts 2262 karma points