Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Rune Grønkjær 1372 posts 3103 karma points
    May 17, 2011 @ 10:30
    Rune Grønkjær
    0

    Dictionary items and domains

    Hi,

    I have a multi language website with only one domain. The domain is added to one of the languages - http://domain.com/da/... - and you can the navigate to the other languages like this - http://domain.com/en/...

    How do I get dictionary translations to to work for the other languages. They are using the domains language setting. I have tried creating dummy domains on the other languages, but the used domains language still desides the dictionary items translations.

    I'm using Umbraco 4.5.2
    useDomainPrefixes = false

    Hope you can help

    /Rune

  • Rik Helsen 670 posts 873 karma points
    May 18, 2011 @ 09:35
    Rik Helsen
    0

    Simply assign one language with each language node (/en /fr /da ...), and place all content below that node, should work fine (it does for me)

    I've explained my way here:

    http://our.umbraco.org/forum/using/ui-questions/2814-MultiLanguage-same-Domain-?p=3

    and here:

    http://our.umbraco.org/forum/developers/extending-umbraco/19377-Multilingual-11-sites?p=0#comment73579

     

  • Rune Grønkjær 1372 posts 3103 karma points
    May 18, 2011 @ 09:41
    Rune Grønkjær
    0

    Hi Rik,

    Thanks for your answer.

    I think my problem is that i only have one real domain, which all languages must be accessible from. Umbraco seems to be looking at what domain is in use and selects only the language of that domain, regardless of where the user is in the content tree.

    What I tried was to make dummy domains for each language node, with a different language attached. But because the dummy domain isn't used for real, Umbraco ignores the language.

    /Rune

  • Chriztian Steinmeier 2800 posts 8791 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    May 18, 2011 @ 11:49
    Chriztian Steinmeier
    0

    Hi Rune,

    We have a solution that's setup like this:

    Splash (country selector)
    - Website UK
    - Website DK
    - (etc.)

    Website nodes have an umbracoUrlName property set to the country code (e.g. "en", "dk" etc.) - and then we've set a bogus hostname (subdomain "en.main.com", "dk.main.com" - u get it by now :-) on these, to enable assigning a language/culture.

    It didn't work - until we realized that we'd set a domain+language on the "Splash" node too... as soon as we removed the hostname from that one, everything worked as expected. 

    /Chriztian

  • Rune Grønkjær 1372 posts 3103 karma points
    May 18, 2011 @ 13:56
    Rune Grønkjær
    0

    Hi Chriztian,

    I think that is what I'm doing as well, if I understand your "Splash" page right.

    Mine looks like this. No domain on "Website"

    If I go to "bogusdomain.com/da/frontpage.aspx" the dictionary items is still in english.

    Just tested it on a Umbraco 4.7 installation with the same result.

    /Rune

  • Rik Helsen 670 posts 873 karma points
    May 18, 2011 @ 16:25
    Rik Helsen
    0

    it's exactly the same as ours (except that we replaced the splash page by a automatic redirect script based on the browser language of the end user)

    We don't use any version higher than 4.5.2 though

    how/where do you use the dictionary item? give us a code snippet! maybe there's an error in there somwhere.

  • Rik Helsen 670 posts 873 karma points
    May 18, 2011 @ 16:26
    Rik Helsen
    0

    it's exactly the same as ours (except that we replaced the splash page by a automatic redirect script based on the browser language of the end user)

    We don't use any version higher than 4.5.2 though

    how/where do you use the dictionary item? give us a code snippet! maybe there's an error in there somwhere.

  • Rune Grønkjær 1372 posts 3103 karma points
    May 18, 2011 @ 16:33
    Rune Grønkjær
    0

    I have tried both in my xslt's and in my templates like this

    <xsl:value-of select="umbraco.library:GetDictionaryItem('dicAlias')"/>

    and

      <umbraco:Item field="#dicAlias" runat="server"></umbraco:Item>


    So no weird stuff there i should think!?

    Remember it works for me if I do NOT use a bogus domain. If I use a real domain for both languages it works like a charm.

    /Rune

  • Rune Grønkjær 1372 posts 3103 karma points
    May 24, 2011 @ 10:46
    Rune Grønkjær
    0

    I got an answer from the Umbraco support. Not the best solution, but it will do the trick. I recommend to just have a domain per language.

    Answer from Umbraco support:

    So, based off of the forum post, I assume you are trying to use the same domain for multiple languages?

    Try to use a fake domain for the english version as well. Don't use the real domain, as it will resolve to english no matter what.

    On the splash, you can either have it display the english page, or redirect based upon browser language.

    To have the splash just show the english page by default, add a property to the Splash Document Type aliased umbracoInternalRedirectId of type Content Picker. Point the Splash Page to the english using the content picker.

    Casey

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft