Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Tonya Donahue 3 posts 23 karma points
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 18:35
    Tonya Donahue

Create Child pages

I know I have to be overlooking the obvious...  I am trying to create a hierarchy of parent & child pages, along with a dropdown navigation, but don't know where to select a page to make it a child page.  This is my first time using Umbraco and am loving the possibilities. After working with CMS's and a variety of projects I can't believe this little thing is stumping me!

Thanks

Tonya

• Tom Hare 49 posts 81 karma points
    Sep 27, 2011 @ 18:42
    Tom Hare

Hi Tonya,

The golden rule with Umbraco is "right-click > Create" :)

To create a child page, right-click on the parent, click 'Create' and go ahead selecting your document type etc (remember to set the allowed child document types in the 'Structure' tab).

I'd highly recommend having a look at some of the video on http://umbraco.tv if you're just starting out.

Below is the XSLT for a menu I've used recently, it'll show the main pages across the top and one level of subpages below.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE xsl:stylesheet [ <!ENTITY nbsp "&#x00A0;"> ]>
    <xsl:stylesheet
      version="1.0"
      xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform"
      xmlns:msxml="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:xslt"