Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Suja Shyam 14 posts 34 karma points
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 13:43
    Suja Shyam

Edit menu in umbraco site

I need to support a site made using umbraco. am a total newbie in umbraco. let me explain my scenario. I have left have menu which is used to navigate to different pages. Now i need to change one menu item to navigate to a different page. How is this posible?

• Tim 1193 posts 2675 karma points MVP 3x c-trib
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 10:32
    Tim

Hi,

That would depend very much on how the site has been written. Its likely though that there's an XSLT macro (or Razor if its a more recent site) that contains all of the code for generating the menus. You'll need to go into the settings section and look at you page templates. Find the template that has the navigation in it, and make a not of the macro name for the navigation.

You can then go into the developers section of the site and look at the macro to see how the navigation is built. Once you've looked at that code, you should be able to see how the navigation is built and be able to make changes!

I'd recommend reading through the Wiki to find out about Macros and the basics of how Umbraco works. There's also an excellent book available as well if you'll be supporting the site long term.

Hope that helps!

:)

Nov 03, 2011 @ 11:08
    Suja Shyam

Iam not able to get an idea seeing through the xslt file. I shall share the file with u so that u can take a look to it.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE xsl:stylesheet [ <!ENTITY nbsp "&#x00A0;"> ]>
    <xsl:stylesheet
      version="1.0"
      xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform"
      xmlns:msxml="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:xslt"