Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• f10x 21 posts 18 karma points
    Jun 30, 2009 @ 02:00
    f10x

Umbraco media creates folders with random numbers

Hi all, I am new to Umbraco and am giving this a shot for a website/intranet project.

I have noticed that Umbraco creates random folders whenever an image or pdf is being uploaded. This makes it difficult to track/edit images. Can this be avoided so that I can have a normal "media" folder with following subfolders "images" "pdf" "doc" where all images, pdfs and doc files can be uploaded without a random folder generated.

I am using Umbraco 4.0.2.1 and ASP.NET v2

Am not much of a programmer.

Working on Umbraco as someone mentioned it is a good CMS once it is all setup.

Thank you for your time and help with this.

Cheers!

• Aaron Powell 1708 posts 3046 karma points c-trib
    Jun 30, 2009 @ 03:01
    Aaron Powell

Actually they aren't random, they are the unique ID of the media item in the database. If there was no uniqueness you could easily upload two files with the same name "my-cool-pic.png" and the second overwrites the first.

There's a setting in /data/umbracoSettings.config which can be used to flatten the folders, so you have ####-filename.png but there is no way to remove the ID from either the file name or file path.

• Chris Dunn 75 posts 127 karma points
    Jun 30, 2009 @ 04:11
    Chris Dunn