Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Robin Nicholl 137 posts 277 karma points
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 19:43
    Robin Nicholl
    0

    Simple(!!) test for boolean in uBlogsy/Razor

    having big trouble with this. I'm trying to only show posts that have a custom true/false property selected:

    foreach (DynamicNode in nodes{
    if @n.GetProperty("featureOnHomepage"== {
    @RenderPage("/macroScripts/uBlogsyShowPosts.cshtml"n.Id)
    }
    }

    But this doesn't work (nor do any of the loads of permutations I've tried)... 

    Robin

  • bob baty-barr 1180 posts 1294 karma points MVP
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 22:46
    bob baty-barr
    1

    i think you can just use the is or not syntax...

    if(@n.GetProperty("featureOnHomepage") {
    ...
  • Robin Nicholl 137 posts 277 karma points
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 23:09
    Robin Nicholl
    0

    I'd have though that should work, but it just gives an error when rendered to the page:

    Cannot implicitly convert type 'umbraco.interfaces.IProperty' to 'bool'
  • bob baty-barr 1180 posts 1294 karma points MVP
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 23:11
    bob baty-barr
    0

    so maybe

    if(@n.GetProperty("featureOnHomepage").AsBool) {
    ....
  • Robin Nicholl 137 posts 277 karma points
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 23:23
    Robin Nicholl
    0

    Oh, dear.. that gives an error on save:

    Cannot convert method group 'AsBool' to non-delegate type 'bool'. Did you intend to invoke the method?

    Tried adding parentheses to AsBool(), but that slo errored on save:

    'umbraco.interfaces.IProperty' does not contain a definition for 'AsBool' and the best extension method overload 'System.Web.WebPages.StringExtensions.AsBool(string)' has some invalid arguments

    ... and it didn't work as AsBool(@n.GetProperty("featureOnHomepage")) either...

  • bob baty-barr 1180 posts 1294 karma points MVP
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 23:29
    bob baty-barr
    0

    what about this page here... does that help?

    http://umbraco.com/follow-us/blog-archive/2011/3/1/umbraco-razor-feature-walkthrough-%E2%80%93-part-4

    looks like maybe we have to use true and false not 1 and zero??

  • bob baty-barr 1180 posts 1294 karma points MVP
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 23:31
  • bob baty-barr 1180 posts 1294 karma points MVP
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 23:35
    bob baty-barr
    0

    actually wait... i think i see what you need...

    i think you can put a where on your for each...

    @foreach(DynamicNode in nodes.Where("featureOnHomepage")) {
  • Robin Nicholl 137 posts 277 karma points
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 02:00
    Robin Nicholl
    0

    Thanks for thinking about this. Yes, this looks like it should work... but it gives an error on save:

    'System.Collections.Generic.IEnumerable' does not contain a definition for 'Where' and the best extension method overload 'System.Linq.Enumerable.Where(System.Collections.Generic.IEnumerable, System.Func)' has some invalid arguments

    Argh!

  • Robin Nicholl 137 posts 277 karma points
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 13:57
    Robin Nicholl
    0

    OK, finally got it to work like this:

    foreach (DynamicNode n in node) {
    if (@n.HasValue("featureOnHomePage")) {
    @RenderPage("/macroScripts/uBlogsyShowPosts.cshtml", n.Id)
    }
    }

    Could've sworn I tried this a few hundred attempts ago, but hey ho, at least it's working now!

    Robin

  • Robin Nicholl 137 posts 277 karma points
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 02:03
    Robin Nicholl
    0

    Damn, it doesn't work after all: it was just that I hadn't published some nodes since adding the "featureOnHomepage" property!

    Anybody have any ideas?

    Robin

  • Rasmus Berntsen 215 posts 253 karma points c-trib
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 02:16
    Rasmus Berntsen
    0

    Okay, so how much of the above code is working? What I see you're doing atm., is to check if n has a property of alias "featureOnHomePage" that has a value, but I don't see you actually check if that value is true or false?

    Edit: And in your first example, shouldn't it be true instead of 1? Or is that the custom part? :)

    It's much easier to help, if you pasted your current code and the error message you are getting. 

    Good luck!

  • Robin Nicholl 137 posts 277 karma points
    Dec 05, 2011 @ 01:53
    Robin Nicholl
    0
    The "HasValue" approach was obviously, with hindsight, never going to work... it's just that it seemed to because I hadn't published any of the non-qualifying pages since adding the property.But this *does* seem to work:
    foreach (DynamicNode in nodes{
    if @n.GetProperty("featureOnHomepage").Value=="1" {
    @RenderPage("/macroScripts/uBlogsyShowPosts.cshtml"n.Id)
    return;
    }
    }

    ... although, again, I'm pretty damn sure I tried this earlier on: must have had a typo or something!

  • Christian Rieß 24 posts 46 karma points
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 14:45
    Christian Rieß
    0

    I am experiencing a very similar error. I have two different Document types. Both Document Types have the property "displayInTopNavigation". I iterate through these documents in the same Razor script:

    @using umbraco.MacroEngines

    @{
      var languagePage = Model.AncestorOrSelf(1);
      <ul>
      @{
        foreach (var firstLevelPage in languagePage.Children)
        {
          try
          {
            if (firstLevelPage.NodeTypeAlias == "Folder" || firstLevelPage.NodeTypeAlias == "Page")
            {
              <div> @firstLevelPage.Name : @firstLevelPage.displayInTopNavigation.GetType() <br/</div>
              if (firstLevelPage.displayInTopNavigation)
              {
                <div> First Level Page </div>
              }
              else
              {
                <div>@firstLevelPage.Name not in top navigation</div>
              }
            }
          }
          catch (Exception e)
          {
            @e.Message<br/>
          }
        }
      }
      </ul>
    }



    The curious thing is, that the Razor script seems to interpret the
    "displayInTopNavigation" sometime as a System.Boolean, sometimes as a System.String. The <div> @firstLevelPage.Name : @firstLevelPage.displayInTopNavigation.GetType() <br/</div> statement puts out that the property is one time a boolean, one time a string. I am totally puzzled since I quadruple-checked the properties of both document types, I even let someone else check, and they are in fact "True/False".

    Could this be a bug or is there some subtle thing with Razor I didn't consider right?

    I am using umbraco 4.7.1.1

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies