Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Juliana Doupe 3 posts 23 karma points
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 00:49
    Juliana Doupe

Working in HTML on Umbraco

Hi,

I'm new to this CMS and am trying to make some changes to a clients website.

Sorry, not sure what version of Umbraco the site's in.

Anyway, if I change something in HTML, the system won't update it.

Very frustrating, as there's some formatting issues that can only be solved in HTML.

When I make my changes in HTML and then click Update, the screen goes blank, then I hit Save and it takes me back where I started, that is, the visual back-end with the original HTML intact.

Help please!

• Ernst Utvik 123 posts 235 karma points
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 02:32
    Ernst Utvik

Hi Juliana

Are you trying to edit the templates (in the settings section) or the html in the rich-text-editors (text boxes in the content section).

If the latter there is a setting for the tinyMCE editor that prevent you from making certain changes to the HTML. Check out the wiki :)

Btw, this is a great package for editing config files in Umbraco. 

Good luck ;)

Feb 21, 2012 @ 05:09
    Juliana Doupe

Hi Ernst,

thanks for your post.

I had a look at the wiki which seemed to say disable the auto correct at your peril and didn't make clear whether disabling it would effect the whole site or just the page I was working on.

Any thoughts?

J

• Markus Johansson 1911 posts 5757 karma points MVP c-trib
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 06:43
    Markus Johansson

Hi Juliana!

If you change some of the config-files you may need to touch web.config in the root for the app to recycle and for the changes to take effect. What are you trying to do? Insert html into the rich text editors html-editor mode? What kind of html?

Feb 21, 2012 @ 06:57
    Juliana Doupe

Hi,