Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Frank Caico 7 posts 37 karma points
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 16:47
    Frank Caico

Node ordering

I'm very new to Umbraco so please bear with me if this is a dumb question.

After playing with Runway a bit, I've been using Creative Website Starter on a new Umbraco installation.

Anyway,  I've got a "News and Events" page which is a node under my Home content node. Under this node are a bunch of nodes -- either News Items or Event Items.   The News and Events page displays all the news and event items (sort of like a blog).   Anyhow, the Settings for the News and Events node has to sorting fields:   Sort By and Sort Order.   These sound great, but unfortunately no matter what I do, the news and event items always show up in the order in which the nodes are "physically" ordered under the News and Events node.

I have a theory as to why this is happening.  The News and Events page template uses an XSLT macro to display the nodes under it in a nice pretty and abbreviated way.   Of course this XSLT macro uses a <xsl:for-each select="$currentPage/node"> to iterate through the nodes displaying each one using the appropriate markup.    My theory is that this for-each is the culprite as it is ignoring any sort preferences of the News and Events node.   Is this right?!?!    And if it is, how do I correct this behavior so that the Ascending/Descending sort order will be obeyed?

Thanks for your help!

Frank

• Thomas Höhler 1237 posts 1709 karma points MVP
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 16:50
    Thomas Höhler

You can use xsl:sort direct after the xsl:for-each. eg:

<xsl:sort select ="@creatDate" order="descending" />

How it is done in the CWS2 I have to look into it first, but perhaps this will take you to the right direction.

Thomas

• Timsn 121 posts 231 karma points
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 16:53
    Timsn

Hi Frank,