Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Gerhard 1 post 22 karma points
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 13:33
    Gerhard

Fresh installation, umbraco randomly not saving changes in documentTypes

I'm new to Umbraco and decided to follow a few video tutorials to get started. So I installed webmatrix, and I am using IIS Express and SQLServer CE.

I created a new website, and I am following this tutorial:
    http://umbraco.com/help-and-support/video-tutorials/umbraco-fundamentals/building-the-cws-site/creating-the-basic-structure/TVPlayer. All that I am doing is setting up documenttypes.

And this is the weird thing: At "random" (it seems) my changes are lost. I don't know why and I can't discribe how to repro, since I don't have a clue why my changes are not saved most of the time. 

Yesterday night I was following this tutorial. I created all the documenttypes as described, setting tabs and properties. Today when I opened up Umbraco again, all changes are lost.

So at first I thought that it must be SQLServer CE not saving changes and apparently all my changes wear made in a session only? But that doesn't make sense, it can't be all in session?

So I tried to do it again, this time step by step. Basically, I set up a documenttype or 2 and create a few tabs. Close browser, log back in. Everything is saved. Ok. Now I only create 3 tabs in a documenttype. Close Umbraco,  log back in. Only 1 tab is saved. 

In similar other tries either:
    - all changes are lost. 
    - half of the changes are lost
    - all changes are saved.

I really don't have a clue about what is going on here. I googled of course, but I seem to be the only one in the world with this weird problem...

Any ideas?

• Charles Afford 1163 posts 1709 karma points
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 17:27
    Charles Afford

Hello,