Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Debbie Lawrenson 55 posts 75 karma points
    May 13, 2013 @ 16:38
    Debbie Lawrenson

How hard is Umbraco to use?

Hello! I am a web designer/developer in the UK and my coding skills are HTML/CSS Javascript and up to now I have been working a lot in Drupal so have some PHP knowledge. I have just joined a design agency and need to choose a CMS going forward to build all of our client sites in. My question really is whether someone like me who has some technical skills but not at all in ASP.net should kick off with Umbraco as the CMS of choice and whether this means I'll have to learn ASP.net?

Also I would like to use Zurb's Foundation as a front end framework and wonder how this sort of thing can combine with Umbraco. Or indeed any responsive framework?

Many thanks,

Deb

• Damon Bauer 48 posts 95 karma points
    May 13, 2013 @ 17:51
    Damon Bauer

You'll have to learn some .NET things, as the template & macro system in Umbraco depend on it. They aren't too complex and there are starter macros to get you going if needed. If you don't know what a macro is, you'll learn quickly. Essentially, they are chunks of code dropped into a template or onto a page that allow you to run code to render something. The most common example is navigation - a foreach block runs through and builds a list of links for the pages and spits it onto the page. 

About frameworks - you shouldn't have much of a problem integrating these sorts of systems. Your workflow would be something like:

• Replace static html with a macro inside the page template
    • On page load, the macro renders the code from the content area
    • Style it like normal with css/js