Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Mike Grace 8 posts 28 karma points
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 11:34
    Mike Grace

Is it possible to create the equivalent of DNN portals?

Hi,

I am new to Umbraco but have experience developing modules and using DNN.

Does Umbraco support portals i.e. multiple sites within one single installation of Umbraco?

If so, are the users global to the installation or are are they insulated in each portal i.e. Can I have 2 portals both with a user ID of Mike?

I am looking to move away from DNN and I am trying to figure out if Umbraco with fit my needs.

Regards

Mike

• Rich Green 2246 posts 4008 karma points
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 11:49
    Rich Green

Hi Mike,

You wouldn't regret moving over.

Umbraco supports multiple sites in one install but this isn't really for hosting different companies websites, you might have multiple websites for one company (multi-lingual for example)

Hope that makes sense.

Rich

Oct 08, 2013 @ 12:36
    Mike Grace

Does that mean that you can't map a url to each site (in one install) but you can have e.g.

www.umbracosite.com/customer1

www.umbracosite.com/customer2

etc..

Can each site have its own skin and log ins?

Oct 08, 2013 @ 12:38
    Rich Green

Hi Mike,

You can but it's not advised unless the customers are related.

Regards

Rich

Oct 08, 2013 @ 13:49
    Mike Grace

Hi Rich,

Can you elaborate why?

Is it because they would share the same physical database?

If so, is there are way to differentiate between different sites i.e. something like PortalID?

Regards

Mike

Oct 08, 2013 @ 14:16
    Rich Green

Hi Mike,

Umbraco is not designed to do this in reality, though as I've said it can work it's not advised.

I'm guessing your worry is because of hosting right?

Regards

Rich

Oct 08, 2013 @ 15:06
    Mike Grace