Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • smercer 39 posts 67 karma points
    Nov 11, 2009 @ 23:07
    smercer
    0

    How do I create heading tags on the rich text editor?

    I'd like to be able to use H1, H2....but the "format" picker is not available for the TinyMCE data type. Is there a way to enable it in the tinymceConfig file? Headings are pretty crucial, any help would be appreciated. Tried the search, but did not get anything.

  • smercer 39 posts 67 karma points
    Nov 11, 2009 @ 23:20
    smercer
    2

    Here's the answer to my own question:

    Added this to the tinyMCEConfig file -

    <command>
              <umbracoAlias>mceFormatPicker</umbracoAlias>
              <icon>images/editor/showFormats.gif</icon>
              <tinyMceCommand value="" userInterface="true" frontendCommand="formatselect">formatselect</tinyMceCommand>
              <priority>19</priority>
    </command>
  • Dirk De Grave 4541 posts 6021 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Nov 11, 2009 @ 23:23
    Dirk De Grave
    1

    Hi smercer,

    Create a stylesheet and define those tags, then, go to 'Developer' section, expand the 'Data Ttypes' node, find the Rich text editor and click it. On the right side, you should be able to select your created stylesheet from the 'Related stylesheet' list. Once that's done, you should be able to select those tags from the dropdown

     

    Hope this helps.

    Regards,

    /Dirk

  • Lee 1130 posts 3088 karma points
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 07:16
    Lee
    0

    I do the same as Dirk said

  • Andrew Lansdowne 43 posts 124 karma points
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 17:17
    Andrew Lansdowne
    1

    Hi

    I took ages to figure out that you have to create your stylesheet, and then right-click on its name and create again for each individual style (don't just enter the CSS into the box for the CSS file) when you create each style you can specify the friendly name and the CSS selector (e.g. h1, h2, p.classname) for it to appaer in the editor.

    Andy

  • Rudi Moritz 8 posts 28 karma points
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 06:45
    Rudi Moritz
    0

    Thanks Andy,

    That wasn't clear to me neither. Your post saved me precious time.

    Rudi

  • Mike Joseph 9 posts 29 karma points
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 20:37
    Mike Joseph
    0

    Andy (or Rudi),

    Forgive me being dense, but could you elaborate on what you did to make the style show up in the editor? 

    You had to copy the file for each individual style? 

    I was able to go through Dirk's instructions and was able to successfully relate my stylesheet and things appear as expected when I edit HTML source, but none of my class names or HTML definitions are showing up in the styles dropdown. 

    Thanks!

    Mike

  • Rudi Moritz 8 posts 28 karma points
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 05:36
    Rudi Moritz
    0

    Hi Mike,

    Right-click on the stylesheet you added to Settings - Stylesheets, choose Create, giving it a name which you want to display, e.g. "Heading 6", hit the button "Create", and then set the Alias property to the actual style, e.g. "h6".

    Hope that helps,
    Rudi

  • Mr A 216 posts 278 karma points
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 11:16
    Mr A
    0

    If you are using just for block elements , you can define it by h1 , h2 , h3 but if you want to add a class or id , remember to include "." or "#" before the name of your style.

  • Mike Joseph 9 posts 29 karma points
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 18:38
    Mike Joseph
    0

    A ha! Thanks, Rudi. That did the trick!

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft