Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Adriano Fabri 360 posts 1236 karma points
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 10:55
    Adriano Fabri
    0

    Hoe to search specific node into Backoffice?

    Hi to all,
    I have a problem when I try to search a node into backoffice.

    I would to find a specific node quickly (I have the node id).

    I tried to use the search form field at the top left of the page of umbraco but I didn't find it.

    How can I search quickly a node having the node id?

    Thank you in advance

    Adriano

  • Thomas Kahn 602 posts 506 karma points
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 20:39
    Thomas Kahn
    0

    Hi Adriano!

    You're right - that doesn't work for me either. It would be a cool feature if the backoffice search would look at what's entered in the search field and if it's only four digits, it would search for nodes using the ID.

    What I do now is I open up the site tree, let the mouse pointer wander over the pages and look at the ID's in the lower left corner of my browser where it displays the links, for example: javascript:openContent(1115) and so on. Crude but it works on smaller sites.

    Regards,
    Thomas Kahn

  • Lee Kelleher 3884 posts 14615 karma points MVP 9x admin c-trib
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 20:49
    Lee Kelleher
    2

    Hi Adriano,

    If you know the node id, and just need to edit the content ... the quickest and crudest way is to use this URL:

    { your domain } /umbraco/editContent.aspx?id= { node id }

     

    Alternatively, you could try the Content Maintenance Dashboard Package package?

    Cheers, Lee.

  • Casey Neehouse 1339 posts 483 karma points MVP 2x admin
    Nov 14, 2009 @ 01:00
    Casey Neehouse
    3

    I believe Id search is already possible... 

    Id:1234
  • Thomas Kahn 602 posts 506 karma points
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 16:58
    Thomas Kahn
    0

    Hi Casey!

    Yes! Cool!
    One small improvement would be to make it case insensitive. Now only "Id" works, not "ID" or "id".

    Thanks for the info!

    /Thomas Kahn

  • Lee Kelleher 3884 posts 14615 karma points MVP 9x admin c-trib
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 22:04
    Lee Kelleher
    0

    The "Id" field-name is case-sensitive, as that is how it is named in the Lucene index.

    Currently there is no getting around it - well, maybe if you wrote some JavaScript to hi-jack the request, parse out the "/id:(\d{4})/" and TitleCase it before the query?  But that is way way overkill! ;-)

  • Laurence Gillian 595 posts 1211 karma points
    Apr 09, 2010 @ 15:28
    Laurence Gillian
    0

    Amazing! This just solved a need for one of our clients! (: /Lx

  • Anders Brohäll 292 posts 558 karma points
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 17:03
    Anders Brohäll
    0

    I cant get search on id to work..

    For instance "Id:1078" gives no results in 4.72.
    Whereas 1078 is a published node.

    Any ideas? 

  • Mike Hamilton 7 posts 27 karma points
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 17:44
    Mike Hamilton
    0

    Hey, we were just trying to do the same thing and noticed it doesn't work anymore either (4.11.4).

    Does anyone have updated information on this?

  • Jay Criscione 14 posts 103 karma points
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 19:40
    Jay Criscione
    1

    Anders, you can search using "*1078" (without the quotes) to do a global search. You will get more than just the one content node, you will also get any other content in which "1078" appears. Hope this helps.

  • Ali Kazai 9 posts 79 karma points c-trib
    Mar 26, 2019 @ 12:26
    Ali Kazai
    0

    Im using umbraco v7.5 and it seems that you cant use *1078 to do a search as it gives an error message but searching without the * and without the Id= parameter just typing the number 1078 seems to work.

  • Adriano Fabri 360 posts 1236 karma points
    Jul 11, 2019 @ 09:19
    Adriano Fabri
    100

    Thank you Ali, but this post is 6 years old. :-)

    Adriano

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft